We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with hot water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

You never think how important it is to have a really clean room until you check in. No mold in the shower...this is common on the coast. Hot water and lots of it! A good breakfast to start the day and most important pleasant staff.
A very good value and only a short walk to the Eel River Brewery.

Room Tip: Across the road is a cow pasture. So in summer opening the windows might be an adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barongruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The staff takes a lot of pride in the Motel and works really hard make sure all of our guests are happy and well taken care of. These words of encouragement mean a lot to all of us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 712 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a great stay at the Best Western in Fortuna. Rooms Clean, Service Excellent, and a very good breakfast. Even though there are several choices I will stay here again when I am working in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent. Room clean plus a great breakfast. I don't think it can be improved on. I certainly will stay here again when I am in the area.

This motel it also located near a couple of good resturants as well..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel was a great value for the money. The hotel was charming, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served until 10:00 AM and it was surprisingly good..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fortuna

After a really nice (traffic free) days drive from Newport Oregon, we turned off the 101 into the Best Western Fortuna’s parking lot. Our first impressions were that it was an old motel that at best would rate a two star category but as happens many times, don’t trust your first impressions.

The lobby was decorated for Halloween and the staff obviously were having fun at work (great job). We were warmly welcomed and thanked for the sunny day that we had brought “it is usually foggy here”, we were told. We were told about breakfast arrangements and then kindly directed to our second floor room.

The room was old in designed but perfectly furnished for a one night stay. It had a king sized bed, a fridge (freezer not so good) under a sink, nice TV with a good selection of channels, writing (computer) desk and an easy chair (nice touch).

I a separate room was a toilet, opening (and closing – remember this) window and a tub/shower (6 foot 2 inches) with good pressure but individual hot and cold faucets. This probably would not pass code today but worked well for us.

The highlight of this location is the walk along the Eel River. A nice flat hike (walk) to stretch out those stiff legs. We only walked a few kilometers but one could go forever. This is what makes this motel.

Breakfast was no slouch. If you like coffee, there were several types. Two types of scrambled eggs were available. One was more like a quiche. Along with this fresh fruit and typical sausage, cereals, etc. were present.

Good place to stay. The only real downside is the truckers out back leaving between four and five in the morning. This is not the Best Western’s fault but be forewarned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is exceptionally clean and family oriented. Really nice. The breakfast offered a larger variety than the typical continental breakfast. It was a nice stop before hitting the Avenue of the Giants the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Roberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here during our journey down the coast of California The room was newly decorated and very clean. The breakfast was great. All the staff we met were extremely kind, considerate and professional I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Deanie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
738 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540-9552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range: $98 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing