We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well-maintained motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesboro, Pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well-maintained motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very clean, well maintained motel. Room was nice size and comfortable bed. Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit and nice selection of meat/eggs. Coffee in the lobby at all times. Would recommend this motel if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our breakfast. I do hope that you had a chance to take in some of our beautiful scenery.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    166
    39
    6
    7
See reviews for
224
234
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The people here take pride in their work and it shows.
Other reviews have mentioned the chocolate and yummy cookies in the lobby and infused water. They haven't mentioned the hot water for hot chocolate and cider, as well as the coffee with several flavored creamers too. There are little trays which is so thoughtful when you're bringing several drinks back to the room for your family.

We stayed in the mother-in-law suite and the separate bedroom doesn't have a vent for the air conditioning. The nights were cool and quiet enough for us to crack the window open. Each room has a flat screen tv which our kid loved! There was plenty of space for us and our 2 kids- suitcases, infant car seat, and pack n play. We stayed on the upper floor and had no issues with noise at all even though we were across from the pool.

From the parking lot, we saw many large trucks and bikes. There were a couple of folks hanging out along the corridors, some smoking, and we passed a room with the window open and a poker game going on. Nonetheless, we never felt unsafe or insecure.

The dining room is very very small for a property this size. The breakfast ladies were so cheerful and efficient in clearing the tables. There was boysenberry syrup, and cool whip and strawberry compote to go with the waffles. Scones and french toast was something I haven't seen in similar motels we've stayed at. And the eggs were replenished quickly right up to the end of breakfast (10am, yay!), the sausage and bacon too. There was whole milk as well as 2%, and watermelon. A surprising choice of fruit for breakfast! But I'm not complaining!

A nice little surprise is a tray of dessert in the morning- mini cheesecakes, or a cheesecake decorated with berries for the 4th. These little extras, as well as the friendly attitude of the staff, made it such a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: We didn't hear any noise even though our room (210) was located across the pool. It was close en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriesAndFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice surprise after a long day of travel. If you are coming in from the north, this is a great place to start a Redwoods, Avenue of the Giants trip. The room was spotless. It made us relax and feel totally comfortable. These people know how to take care of their property!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

For a short getaway trip to the Redwoods, we had originally planned to stay in Eureka, but none of the available lodging options were too exciting nor well-reviewed. The decision to stay here has proved to be a great one-- we are just slightly north of the Avenue of the Giants, and within walking distance of the Eel River Brewing Company where we had an enjoyable meal outdoors last evening.
Check-in was smooth. Perks include: a bowl of Hershey's kisses, an assortment of cookies, coffee, and some delicious flavored water (cucumber and lemon) in a dispenser. Although the hotel was fairly full, it was pretty quiet and didn't feel crowded.
Our king room was quite spacious and tastefully decorated. There was a comfortable wing chair, as well as a small dining table and two armchairs. The bathroom was immaculate, and the shower had good pressure and steady hot water. The tv reception was good, with a decent variety of channels. Wifi was pretty consistent, although you have to input the code with each session. The bed was ultra-comfortable, with plenty of pillows.
Breakfast was busy but efficient. They had a huge variety of choices: cereal, yogurt, bagels, scones, scrambled eggs with cheese (real eggs!), bacon, sausage patties, muffins, DIY waffles, and even French toast that could be toasted up hot. It ranked up there with some of our most memorable hotel continental breakfasts in fancier places.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area. We had stayed here 20 years ago or so when our kids were small, and it's even better now!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay in Fortuna. I hope that we will be your Motel of choice when traveling to the area.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything was great about our stay. The room with two queen beds was unusually large and was very clean. The lobby to check in had free candies, cookies, water, and coffee, and service was great. The Eel River microbrewery restaurant, which is a very popular dining and hangout option in town, is within walking distance. The completementary hot breakfast was above average for hotels in this range and included fresh strawberries. The location right off 101 is very convenient. Parking was right in front of the room and easy to load luggage. The internet was fa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have booked this hotel several times over the past few years for business travel and have never been disappointed or treated poorly. I keep coming back because it is a wonderful place to stay. It's proximity to highway access is a big plus, really simple on and off Hwy 101. The cookies provided for my morning coffee are a real treat!!
But because the rooms are always clean and the beds are always comfortable after a long day at work, I have even booked here for personal trips. Outstanding staff and breakfast is a pleasant experience. Of note: parking can be a problem if you arrive late - this is a VERY popular hotel. {With good reason}.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room, but if you're a light sleeper and late riser, booking the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.1 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fortuna
Super 8 Fortuna
#3 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Country Inn
Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540-9552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing