We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night stay April 2013”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spacious room which was spotlessly clean. It's not going to be featured in any design magazines but the room was comfortable and functional. Fridge and microwave in room as well as a coffee maker and TAZO tea bags. Also, randomly, a nutter butter was in the room (my Husband enjoyed this touch.) We found the bed to be very comfortable as were the pillows and an extra blanket was available. Found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. Pretty standard breakfast fare, you won't walk away raving about it but you'll be full. Close to the 101. Within walking distance to the EEL RIVER BREWING CO. which is a brewery/restaurant serving great beer and pretty great food. Would absolutely stay here again. Not a resort getaway but very nice for a night or two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    178
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
245
247
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our bed was sunken in the middle, we requested a new room and was given one with immediate occupancy! Great place to stay when visiting Big Trees & Beaches. Ensure you research restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferA385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I was pleased to hear that we were able to move you right away and the rest of your stay was good. We always appreciate any feedback that we receive that can help us improve on our quality. Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention so we can correct it right away. And I am truly sorry for any inconvenience that you encountered.

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night while passing through Fortuna. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. First of all, it's gorgeous. The lobby is nicely done, the staff is very friendly, and there is an indoor/outdoor pool. There is also a guest laundry area that I used that is very clean, although there is only one washer and dryer and it's first come first serve. I was one adult traveling with four children and a dog. They put us in the Sequoia Suite, which is a suite located behind the office. It has two very large bedrooms, a living area, and a bathroom. It's quiet and convenient. I did not ask for this suite and was not charged extra for staying in it. It was immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were even snacks waiting in the room (no extra charge) which my kids loved! Out of all the places we stayed over our ten day cross country road trip, this was one of our favorites. The only downside is that the pet area is really small and the breakfast area is not set up to accommodate families. But all the other pluses more than make up for it. I would highly recommend staying here! And if you are in the area try the Eel River Brewing Co. for dinner. Great food, recommended by the staff. There is a menu in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SillySallySews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with our dog. The rooms were clean the outside area very well kept & the staff was great. The mattress was too firm for me, but if you like a firm mattress this place would be perfect. Only downfall was my husband uses a walker at best & the shower floor in the handicapped room with the roll in shower was slanted to much for someone disabled. Also the ice machine is right outside the handicapped room. Very loud when someone is filling their cooler late at night......There are plenty of other rooms that would be better there, if you don't need the roll in shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mprther35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice rooms and a good breakfast. Best value I have found in Humboldt County. I travel to the area five or six times each year. The value in Fortuna is far better than what I have found in Eureka. I always stay at the Fortuna Best Western when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Eel River and a fantastic running and walking trail. The rooms are very clean and updated. Eel River Brewing is located just a block away and has great beer and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We all strive to make our Motel one that we would bring our families to. We are happy to hear that we have been able to do this for you and your family over the years. we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.1 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Property: Best Western Country Inn
Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing