We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Parkdale, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Eel River and a fantastic running and walking trail. The rooms are very clean and updated. Eel River Brewing is located just a block away and has great beer and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We all strive to make our Motel one that we would bring our families to. We are happy to hear that we have been able to do this for you and your family over the years. we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    177
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
244
247
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our home away from home. we spend one night a week through out the school semester, fall and spring....have for 3 years and never had one bad experience. Cannot say this for other Hotels. Staff are ALL excellent, breakfast always great...we feel as if we are family.....makes time away from our home a delightful time......we are very comfortable in our special room.......Thank you to ALL the staff and management for our good time as your guest.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me start out with staff and cleanliness is a five star.

Pros: Check in staff was incredible. They were friendly, efficient, and professional.
Room was spotless.
Grounds were minimal, but clean.
TV worked. Internet worked.

Cons: Stupid "germ free" remote did not work for input control(I have never had one that did so far) I may never stay at a Best Western after this trip because of those remotes, as I am always connecting my computer to the TV.
Had to climb stairs for the second floor. (What the heck is this all about? That is MOTEL not HOTEL).
Smoking rooms near enough to non-smoking rooms that I could smell the smoke.
Paper thin walls (I am beginning to think this must be a Best Western requirement)

Not the hotel's fault but annoying:
A parent with two toddlers running up and down in front of the second floor rooms at 10:30 at night.

Bottom line: This was a motel, not a hotel and it charged hotel prices. While the staff was excellent, and the rooms large and well kept, the fact that the smoking rooms were right next to the non-smoking rooms, that smoking was allowed right outside any room, and that the walls were paper thin mean that I would probably not stay there again. I am also getting frustrated with motels masquerading as hotels and not mentioning that there are only stairs to the second floor.

Room Tip: Bottom floor on and end if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, General Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I was sorry to hear that some of your experiences at our Motel were negative. I want you to know we appreciate your honesty. Be assured that we do us negative as well as postive feedback to improve our services. I hope that you will give us another chance to improve in the areas that we can.

Thank you,

Sharrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

clean, convenient, great pool. Stayed here for a few days in mid October of 2012. Very nice free breakfast with good choice, comfy bed and good wi-fi. Paid around $79 so great value. Would definately stay here a

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Excited to hear that your family enjoyed themselves!!! We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was very nice and close to the activities we came for. We enjoyed the services that we used and the staff was very friendly. Would recommened this hotel to others. Hotel stay is hotel stay but this one measured up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Country Inn in Fortuna, CA, and felt it was ok. It seemed kind of expensive ($99 for a Wednesday night) plus a fee for our small dog. While I certainly appreciate "dog friendly" hotels, there was a just a very tiny area for dogs to do their business. The breakfast was good with variety of foods including hot waffles. it was nice to have a refrigerator (very small) and microwave in the room. The room was fairly large, fairly quiet, clean, and the bed was comfy. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This Hotel was very clean and had many extras for the price I paid. There was a lazyboy easychair in my king room that was great for the free morning paper! And the full hot breakfast was wonderful. From Waffels to biscuts and gravey, bacon, sausage, eggs and any kind of bread. My price for a saturday night $79. I was happy and surprised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
203 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.1 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Property: Best Western Country Inn
Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing