We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Clean & Comfy, driving distance to Eureka; fruit & coffee/tea in lobby,clean pool/hot tub, hot breakfast, great walking trail close, good eats in walking distance, town amenities/ convenient mall/Starbucks less than 5 minutes by car. No view, tv channel lag, but if you want a friendly, clean, quiet place to stay central to coastal enjoyment this is a good place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for giving Fortuna the thumbs up. It really is a beautiful area with lots of outdoor adventures to be had. I was also pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great breakfast as well as our local trails and restuaurants. We hope that you will consider Humboldt Country for your next vacation!!!

We hope to see you again soon,

Sharrie Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 699 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Generally better than the average Best Western. Clean room and super friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was great. The place seemed really busy with lots of people hanging around outside when I got there, but it was wonderfully quiet inside the room. I slept really well.

I only have one complaint, but it's not really about the motel. It seems there's no decent places to eat dinner or get take out except for a rowdy bar just a block from the motel. Thanks to the staff and a guest checking in I was advised to order a take-out and picked it up a short while later.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This review is for the motel only, and NOT the industrial area around it.

This Best Western Fortuna really works well for us…We are in the area often as family lives close by...My husband and I recently spent 3 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday…..The front desk ladies are over the top friendly and helpful…... In fact all the entire staff was super and handled the busy, holiday crowd with finesse…. We had a downstairs, pet friendly room, #125…..It was a large-sized room and had everything one could need for a short or longer stay…..Perfect for our stay… I too was glad to see a window in the bathroom; many motels/hotels don’t have them anymore….. It was totally dark and quiet at night, good for a peaceful night’s sleep. That’s very important to us.
The hotel’s landscaping was very decked out for the Holidays with zillions of tiny white lights decorating every tree and bush. Simply beautiful! And we heard there would be more to come! The lobby was also done up beautifully in festive holiday decorations. The staff spent a lot of time on the decorations and the management should be proud.

Breakfast: Many reviewers say this breakfast is excellent, etc…Let me tell you, it is far from it……It’s cafeteria-style, Sysco food with the exact same selections all three days…..Adequate but that’s it....If there had been a breakfast restaurant nearby I’d have been there. However the staff once again was very friendly and efficient in keeping the breakfast area stocked and clean.
We had our dog with us and used the river walkway and adjacent fields extensively for exercise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Two Tea Totalers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feed back. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be using your comments to improve our services.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bob897
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a fairly standard 2 story Motel, but it has obviously been extensively upgraded including Double Pane Windows. You could still hear faint freeway noise - but not enough to bother anyone. Parking was good, The lobby included Coffee and Tea - and some cookies. Breakfast was excellent - Full Hot Breakfast with Scrambled Eggs, Ham & Cheese Scrambled Eggs, Sausage and Bacon - also the Waffle maker. Hotel and Breakfast area were very clean - A staff person maintained the breakfast area. All in all - I would reccomend the Country Inn, and stay there again.

Room Tip: No Elevator - so pick your room first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with my elderly mother and were given what the front desk called their "mother-in-law suite". It had a separate bedroom that was perfect for my mother's privacy. This was not just an adjoining room, rather a suite with a private bedroom, king size bed in the main room and a shared bathroom. We stayed 3 nights and were quite satisfied with the location close to the Redwoods, price, and condition of the facility.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elc2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at Best Western Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We appreciate your comments and are happy to know that we were able to take care of your family during your vacation. We hope that you will come and see us again the next time you come to visit our beautiful Redwood Forest.


Sincerely,

Sharrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of the best Best Western we stayed during our 3 weeks trips through the States. Rooms were big and clean, beds very comfortable. And this was the first Hotel we stayed which has a window in the bathroom! Very nice - you can open the window for ventilation and you need no light during daytime. Staff was friendly and ambiance very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paso.Doble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
15.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range: $98 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing