We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family spot”
Review of Funky Monkey

Funky Monkey
Ranked #16 of 37 Restaurants in Fortuna
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
Restaurant details
Hydesville, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family spot”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

They have a very good salad bar. The pizza selection I had was very tasty. On my next visit I will try another menu item.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nothing super special”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arcade section has many different games to play; air hockey, an up to 4 people shooting game, and a few driving games. Didn't like the pizza.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSportsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a good pizza”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went to check out this pizza place. It is in an area that has several hotels and a brewery. The brewery has good food, but it is usually very crowded and noisy. So, we went to get pizza. Nice place. Clean. They have pizza and some other items on the menu. Our group included three adults and a teenage boy. We ordered the largest pizza which I think was xtra large, but it barely feed all of us. It was about $25.00 I think. It was a combination pizza and it was good. Then we had their monkey bread for dessert which was quite tasty. This is not for the budget minded large family as you would probably need to order at least two pizza if you have kids with a big appetite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank littleheart36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Glad they came to town”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The last time we stayed in the motel next door this restaurant was empty and sad looking..Well not anymore! They serve a pretty darn good pizza, and salad bar. And their own signature beer on tap. And did I mention the nicest ladies working there! Yeah! We are happy this place gives us an alternative to the noisy Brewery next door while staying in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Newly opened. A lot of kinks left.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I and two grand-daughters went to this restaurant because we were staying in a neighboring motel. It has a lot of family games like air hockey and video games. Hence the name. We had a couple of questions when we first entered and were told that restaurant had only been open a week. We should have left at that point. But we ordered a large pizza for three people and a chicken basket for one of our grand-daughters. We also ordered three salad bars. We should have checked out the salad bar before ordering. Very sparse. The lettuce was actually field greens, and there wasn't much else. Two of us got refunds on the salads. I ended up trying it. What they had tasted o.k., but the 1000 Island dressing tasted like mayo mixed with ketchup. When we received the pizza it look great. But we found out that the pizza didn't have any sauce that we could tell. The pepperoni was very basic like you would get on a cheap frozen pizza. Overall, a very bland basic pizza. We finished about half the pizza, but just couldn't stomach any more. We ended up getting most of our money back and the manager was apologetic saying they were still working out the kinks. Kinks, indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Monkey also viewed

Fortuna, Humboldt County
 
Fortuna, Humboldt County
Fortuna, Humboldt County
 
Fortuna, Humboldt County
Fortuna, Humboldt County
 

Been to Funky Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing