We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expensive and worth your while” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Fortuna
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Bend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and worth your while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice renovated property. Check-in was a problem but all aspects of the stay were outstanding. Breakfast lacked protein but had nice selection including yogurt. Very nice brew pub across parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Darrel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Super 8 Fortuna, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, Darrel W, for your review. Its good to see appreciation for our upgrades and efforts to remain current with décor and functionality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    108
    32
    11
    14
See reviews for
88
84
34
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This renovated property is very nice and has a great brew pub (Eel River Brewing Co) right across the parking lot. The pillow top beds are very good, and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is just carbs and yogurt but there is good variety.

The room for four persons came to $122 with all the extra taxes.
The front desk gave me a hard time when I couldn't locate my reservation documents.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Super 8 Fortuna, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you again, Darrel W, for your input and your appreciation for our efforts. I was surprised to see you had a difficulty at check-in. Our customer service is always exemplary. I'm sorry it occurred and hope the other wonderful things you commented on made up for the misunderstanding in some way. We would love to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for an overnight stop on our trip through the redwoods. nice room, comfortable bed, nice shower, flat screen tv. decent breakfast, friendly staff..... no surprises, no complaints. This is not a luxury motel, but it met our needs fine, had a good night sleep, and good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Super 8 Fortuna, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you, regnadkcin, for leaving your comments. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We attempt to provide the best in comfort, cleanliness and customer service. It is good to know our efforts are noticed and appreciated. We hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Not much to comment on. Rooms were clean, although the bathroom floor seemed old and therefore not clean (although it was). Breakfast was served in a small room, luckily it wasn't busy when we had breakfast at 9am. The downside was that some of the food was gone, and there wasn't a large selection to begin with. All in all, just a decent motel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Super 8 Fortuna, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you, Pebbeltje84, for your review of your stay. We are happy to know that, in spite of the hungry guests who preceded you, you were able to have a decent breakfast and a decent stay overall. We do hope you will come stay with us again should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The building is apparently 20 years old. But they continuously keep restoring it and fixing the rooms. We used it only as a stop over. Breakfast was simple but good, coffee in our room. Big comfortable beds and a TV.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Super 8 Fortuna, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you, Martine J, for taking time to leave your review. We pride ourselves in providing the finest in customer service, comfort and cleanliness. We are gratified to know our efforts are appreciated. Please come see us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bear River Casino Hotel
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fortuna

Property: Super 8 Fortuna
Address: 1805 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fortuna 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience among the redwoods when you book a room at our Super 8 Fortuna hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 101, our AAA-rated Fortuna, CA, hotel is ideal for your travels through Humboldt County. With plenty of amenities like free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator, and guest laundry facilities, our hotel will help you recharge on the road.Our Fortuna hotel is within driving distance of the most exciting attractions in Northern California, including Avenue of the Giants and Redwood National Park. When you wake up from a sound sleep, kick-start your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast before enjoying all that the area has to offer.Enjoy value and convenience among the redwoods when you book a room at our Super 8 Fortuna hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 101, our AAA-rated Fortuna, CA, hotel is ideal for your travels through Humboldt County. With plenty of amenities like free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator, and guest laundry facilities, our hotel will help you recharge on the road.Our Fortuna hotel is within driving distance of the most exciting attractions in Northern California, including Avenue of the Giants and Redwood National Park. When you wake up from a sound sleep, kick-start your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast before enjoying all that the area has to offer. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Fortuna, CA, hotel is just minutes from many local hotspots and natural attractions. Bet on having a great time during your visit to nearby Bear River Casino. Check out the history and heritage of the Fortuna / Ferndale region on display at the Fortuna Depot Museum. If you are in town for a campus visit, College of the Redwoods is a short drive away. Grizzly Creek Redwoods State Park offers hikers four and a half miles of trails tucked away from the crowds. Drive past mighty redwoods along Avenue of the Giants, just 14 miles away, or visit redwood groves in Redwood National Park. If you are in the mood to shop, nearby Bayshore Mall features over 75 shops under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Fortuna
Fortuna Super Eight
Fortuna Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing