We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bed! Very nice staff!”
Review of Super 8 Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Fortuna
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have not stayed at a Super 8 in about 30 years, due to it's shabbiness years ago. But THIS Super 8 was a really good bargain, with a very clean room, WONDERFUL MATTRESS, and a very nice profesional staff and management. I was sleeping so well, that I overslept the check out time and decided to stay over and enjoy the area one more day. Truly excellent bed and clean room. NOT fancy, but well kept, new AC/heat units, refer, micro, cable , free WiFi and everything you need. Even the drapes and carpets were obviously just cleaned ! the bedding was obviously cleaned, unlike some places, where you cannot tell if you are sleeping on used sheets or a filthy bedspread. The owners obviously take great pride and want visitors to feel they are getting a safe clean place to stay. And it is. I have to give them kudos. Truly. I recommend and would stay here again, without reservation. A good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The place was renovated, and the rooms were new and quite nice, especially for a Super 8. It was a bit dark in there, even with all the lights on, but that's about the only complaint about the room. And if you ask me the price was a few dollars too high for the location. Would probably stay again though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for two nights, so I got a pretty good impression of this establishment. It's very convenient to stores, restaurants, and the highway. Far enough off the highway so you don't hear it. It is a pretty standard Super 8. I found it clean and accommodating. It was average, good enough for one or two nights.

I had no problem with the room, although I stayed on the side facing a bar/grill across the street, and it could get a bit noisy. Also, people having conversations outside could easily be heard in the room. The customer service was just OK, hit or miss. Here's why....

This seems to be a family run establishment. A lady and man who were apparently owners or managers were generally behind the front desk. The lady was always friendly and helpful when I had a question or special need. The gentleman seemed to always be grumpy. This is a customer service industry, and impressions mean a lot. Lighten up my friend and smile once in a while...it doesn't hurt or cost anything. Who knows, it may create some return customers.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side of the bar and grill across the street. This can be VERY noisy until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful, large room with great-looking dark furniture. Flat-screen TV with great picture. Internet excellent. Microwave and fridge. Bath vanity adjoined room with separate small bathroom. Everything clean. Not on main road so very quiet. Probably an upgraded deep mattress, BUT sheets were not upgraded and would not stay on bed. Pillows were also all too fat - stood up nicely on bed, but too big to sleep on. Great choice of breakfast items & good sized, bright breakfast room for a Super 8. Bagels, HUGE muffins, cinnamon rolls, Belgian waffles, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, juice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you need a place to stay in Fortuna, I would really recommend this Super 8. This super 8 has been remodeled and refurnished with very nice comfortable beds and pillows and room decor. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave oven and coffee maker. The room was very clean (no bugs) and there was no smell of smoke in or around the non-smoking rooms. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. Would I stay here again if and when I'm in Fortuna, you bet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay. They have clean rooms, helpful staff, good continental breakfast and two coin washers and dryers for our dirty clothes. One cannott ask for much more. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a nice clean motel. I researched and this was the best value I could find in Fortuna. There were some less expensive motels in Eureka, but further away. The room had a nice bed, clean sheets, microwave, refrigerator with freezer, nice TV, desk, and table. I have had pretty good luck staying at Super 8 motels, so far I've stayed at two. The one at Fort Bragg is good too. The motel did not have a pool or any amenities, but it is right next to the Eel River (not a place you can swim) and you can take a walk on a path. There is also a nice little RV park, a shell gas station with mini-mart next door. There is a really good restaurant, I did not eat there, but has good reviews, the Eel River brewing Co, they serve their own microbrews and they have a nice outside beer garden. I would definately recommended staying here.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor in the center of the building and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb5biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fortuna

Address: 1805 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fortuna 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience among the redwoods when you book a room at our Super 8 Fortuna hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 101, our AAA-rated Fortuna, CA, hotel is ideal for your travels through Humboldt County. With plenty of amenities like free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator, and guest laundry facilities, our hotel will help you recharge on the road.Our Fortuna hotel is within driving distance of the most exciting attractions in Northern California, including Avenue of the Giants and Redwood National Park. When you wake up from a sound sleep, kick-start your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast before enjoying all that the area has to offer.Enjoy value and convenience among the redwoods when you book a room at our Super 8 Fortuna hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 101, our AAA-rated Fortuna, CA, hotel is ideal for your travels through Humboldt County. With plenty of amenities like free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator, and guest laundry facilities, our hotel will help you recharge on the road.Our Fortuna hotel is within driving distance of the most exciting attractions in Northern California, including Avenue of the Giants and Redwood National Park. When you wake up from a sound sleep, kick-start your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast before enjoying all that the area has to offer. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Fortuna, CA, hotel is just minutes from many local hotspots and natural attractions. Bet on having a great time during your visit to nearby Bear River Casino. Check out the history and heritage of the Fortuna / Ferndale region on display at the Fortuna Depot Museum. If you are in town for a campus visit, College of the Redwoods is a short drive away. Grizzly Creek Redwoods State Park offers hikers four and a half miles of trails tucked away from the crowds. Drive past mighty redwoods along Avenue of the Giants, just 14 miles away, or visit redwood groves in Redwood National Park. If you are in the mood to shop, nearby Bayshore Mall features over 75 shops under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Fortuna
Fortuna Super Eight
Fortuna Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing