We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never Stay Here”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My family and I stayed at this property a few weeks ago. The room was large and comfortable and the pool area was nice.
However when we awoke in the morning my room was crawling with ants. They were all over the bathroom and the furniture. When I called down to discuss this with the manager I was told that "maybe we brought them into the hotel". Their customer service was crappy at best.
When I got to my next hotel the same day we pulled all our clothes out of 5 suit cases and no ants and no ants in the rental car.
This hotel has no customer service and calling the 1-800 number for corporate does nothign for you. They certainly are not like they are Undercover Boss.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartfordtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Harfordtravelagent,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
59
72
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Recently stayed one night at this property. Staff very nice. Continental Breakfast. Cons: Found a hair in our bathroom shower, but seemed to be fairly clean otherwise. Thin walls. Two men were talking in the hallway very loudly, but front desk personnel took care of the problem. Microwave/Frig in our room was a nice plus, but we had to pay a little extra over what my sister and brother-in-law paid to have it. Pros: bed and pillows were comfortable. Would recommend though and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear TXLuv2Travel,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked this based on a 2009 AAA book (out of date) that gave this place three stars - I believe it is now down to one star - or that was what was displayed inside.

The checkin clerk was great but a bit flustered. We got the last room that night so we paid the full rate - the room was clean but the refrigerator was broken and no one was there to replace it. The TV remote was broken - that was replaced when we took it to the desk as the clerk was there alone. The table in the room was not adjacent (even with the extension cord we carry) to any electrical outlets. We also had a computer cable but the cable outlet was across the room and was also broken.

The towels were really thread bare. When I was checking out, another patron came down to complain about the towels - he had apparently come down to get replacements and the replacements were not only threadbare but had stains on them.

The wireless Internet was very fast - one of the best we saw on the trip.

So - sort of a mixed bag - clean, large rooms - bed comfort was so - so with a frame in the mattress that could be felt on the edges. This place is ok but for what we paid it was overpriced. We paid $122 or so on a AAA rate - and it seemed to be about half that. I really like good towels!

When we were leaving we talked with several people in the parking lot and this feeling was shared by others.

We had stayed up the road at a Comfort Inn in Humbolt Bay a few weeks before - I would recommend that one over this one. There was also a Best Western down the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Bensus,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We now have new fluffy towels, a great staff that will attend to your needs and ensure you have a great stay, and management that actually cares about guests. We are now ranked one of the best Comfort Inns in California, and our goal is to become one of the best in the nation.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

It is hard to believe that this hotel is rated #1 in Fortuna. We are travel agents and not very picky to say the least but this establishment should be renamed Discomfort Inn.

As for its good points, we found the hotel and room (#303) to be clean. Our room was HUGE and large enough to put half a dozen rollaway beds in it. It would be good for a large family. It offered a large bathroom, hair dryer, iron and board, etc.

As to its bad points, we found the sleep system (mattress) to be the worse we have slept on. Everybody has their own comfort level but this matress was not good. Thise Internet was down most of the time and un-usable.
The check-in staff was adequate and answered questions but the check-out person was having a bad day. No conversation what-so-ever. No "how was your stay", "please come back to see us", etc. Just "sign here" for the credit card receipt. This older gentleman was even snapping at his own help, when asked a question. Not good hotel etiquette. There was a large wedding party staying there the previous night and he may have been irritated.

The complementary breakfast was really inadequate. Just the bear minimun. Cold ceral and muffins/pastries.The waffle maker was working on and off. Many of the wedding party that morning was upset and decided to eat elsewhere. This is something the management might want to look at.

The best part of this stay was the recommendation that we eat next door at the Eel River Pub. A SUPER place. Great food and suds with a "happening" atmosphere. Best place in town. Try it no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Travelguy,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We have since added to and improved our breakfast scores, with many scrumptious offerings and a rotating menu. New beds, new rooms with a recent remodel, and a staff that is loved and loves to ensure you enjoy your stay here. We have since become one of the best in California; our goal is to become one of the best in the nation.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Our reservation was made far in advance...handicap room needed (as my 93 year old Grandmother was attending the wedding), 4 people, wedding/group rate. Upon arrival...we were given a regular room,I went back down stairs and Sheila told us that we didn't reserve a handicapped room??? we had to moveeverything to another floor. Made to pay rate other than what was quoted, Sheila (indian lady respectively) argued and made no real effort to resolve any of these issues. Sheila would only insist that the rate we were being charged was the rate that we were quoted...WRONG...I believe I will continue to enjoy the hospitality and excellent guest service that comes with being a Gold Crown Member...Sorry Comfort Inn...not good.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shastaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Shastaman,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now (Shila is no longer with us), and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

A very pleasant experience at the Comfort Inn. We had a room upstairs with a view of the river. Good customer service at the desk, easy access to elevator and parking lot. Great walk along the river, saw a lovely sunset. Fun restaurant/tavern across the parking lot, we enjoyed not having to drive anywhere after a long day in the car. Altogether a good value, my only suggestion would be more protein choices at breakfast, not really a deal breaker!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear BeverlyA,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, ca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have stayed in Arcata and Eureka on previous visits. This time we were going to graduation at Humboldt State University. We all know that it is practically impossible to find a decent rate on graduation weekend unless you reserved a year in advance.

Well, I found the perfect place at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Fortuna about two months before graduation. It wasn't too far from HSU and it had the wifi, breakfast, refrig and microwave, and reasonable rates.

My spouse was impressed as soon as he walked through the doors of the lobby. Clean and friendly desk staff. He was more impressed when we entered our room. Again very clean, large, and FOUR pillows on the bed! The next morning he marveled at the comfort of the bed. It didn't give him a backache and no noise during the night to disturb his sleep. He said from now on we will stay at Comfort Inn and Suites in Fortuna instead of Eureka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrockettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Crockett,

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. We do take time to read every review and have incorporated many suggestions into our recent remodel - Granted, it's been 7 years since you wrote your review - But we are under new ownership and management now, and we are going through to correct many of the oversights made by the previous administration.

We hope that you come see us here soon, as we want to prove to you that we are serious about guest service!

Warm regards,
David Cisco
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1583 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing