We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location is the thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location is the thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Traveling up hwy 101 through the Ave. of Giants. Needed a place to stay the night. Didn't have enough time to go through the whole A. of G.Couldn't get to Visitor Center by closing a 5pm. We hit as many trails/pulloffs that we could until dusk, then headed to the hotel. Backtracked the next morning to finish A or G. Hotel basic, but clean. Quiet on parking lot side. Friendly staff. Great restaurant right across the parking lot. 10% off for hotel guests. Eel River Brewing Company. Great hot tub. We were late arriving so they left it open extra time for us.Would stay there again due to location, cost and Choice Hotel promotion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFW921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    53
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
49
59
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very clean & quiet hotel. The hot breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. Very helpful front desk staff with eating recommendations and sights to see in the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, OR
Level Contributor
218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Comfy room, great swimming pool, adequate breakfast included. Not amazing, but OK. Pool and hot tub were such a plus - very clean and the right temperatures. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodKarmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. The receptionist was sweet and helpful. The breakfast was kind of awful. Nothing seemed fresh. I really appreciate decent coffee and food that is real. For example, yuck on the packaged hard boiled eggs. They were kind of rubbery. I have had motel worse breakfasts and the value is more from the nice clean rooms.

Room Tip: The organic brewery was a fun place to grab a bite to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Heating/cooling system didn't work; front desk offered a maintenance man – next morning. It turned out to be unplugged (by the maid, the desk said), but even plugged-in, didn't work. The only decent restaurant nearby closed in September: Fortuna has more tattoo parlors than places to eat.

Overall, not a happy experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We often stay here due to it's central location in regard to Eureka, Ferndale and the Redwoods. It is only a 10-15 minute drive from Eureka, but avoids the traffic there. The rooms are large and there is an elevator so any room is fine. The staff is very friendlly and the breakfast choices are more than adequate. One nice feature is that they supply two luggage racks, off setting the lack of a freezer compartment in the refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murfplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

During a 10-day road trip, during which we stayed only in either a Comfort Inn or a Holiday Inn Express, this was the highlight of our hotel experience; larger than usual room; quiet; clean; very friendly and helpful staff; very good rate. We will be staying at this one on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Hotel
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.1 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1583 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing