We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Eel River Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We’re Eel River Brewing Company and we’ve blazed a trail in the craft brew industry over the past twenty years. Continuing our unfailing commitment to quality, taste and consistency is our diverse offerings of excellent craft beer. Much like the tenacious people who brew it, our beer is award-winning. Edgy. Different. Daring. Spirited. And you’re going to love it.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our group visited this establishment for dinner after a long day of driving and sight seeing. The restaurant was busy and we were told it would be a 30-35 minute wait. No problem, we could wait. After an hour and seeing several tables filled by people who came after us, I went to see WHEN we might be seated. Yeah, they forgot our group of 13.
We were finally seated but had to split into two groups spaced as far away from one another as humanly possible by the staff. Our second table, while ordering first, waited 20 minutes longer for their food than our first table. It wasn't the fault of the waitress but the kitchen staff. The manager was asked to come by and when he did, was not very sincere in his " I'm sorry about that" response. Almost like, hey it's always like this so what's the big deal.
Not enough staff for the amount of customers on a Friday night.

We won't be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    188
    62
    33
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate there two week nights in a row in early Oct 13. Good food and beer. I'd say your experience is "server" dependent. Tuesday was better than Wed but both were okay. I happened to be here in March 2011 and I'd say it's pretty consistently good.

Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun, good value, excellent beer”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came here for dinner on the one night we stayed in Fortuna. The waitress was very friendly and extremely helpful and attentive. She gave us some of the best service we have had on our trip! She suggested that we try the beer sampler (12 of their local organic brews), and what a great idea this was. We ordered the taco salad with beef which came in a deep fried crispy tortilla (delicious and plentiful), and also the deep-fried enchilada with beef (very rich but still extremely tasty). We then had the beer pound cake and pecan pie for dessert, both of which were huge servings and very delicious. Overall it was a great experience for us both, and thank you to our wonderful server for all her helpful suggestions!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visiting the redwoods”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The menu was very large and had a great variety. We got there at a busy tine and did not want to wait so we were seated outside and they turned heaters on to keep us comfortable. The meals we ordered were so large that we could have fed several more people. The food was excellent. The guys asked for help when ordering their brews and enjoyed them. The restaurant was near where we were staying, so was very convient. Our waitress was very busy, but we never had to wait for any thing. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yrag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Came back, still a good value”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Although our dinner was at 4 pm, it was tasty. We both ordered ribs and tri tip. There was NO way we could eat everything! Three 2inch hunks of TriTip, 2 sections of ribs, salad, baked potato & tough fresh green beans. The TriTip was a bit over cooked & dry, but the left overs were chopped with mayo & mustard & a wonderful smoky sandwich was had the next day. The beer great, staff friendly & prices were reasonable for the portion size.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clamnmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eel River Brewing Company also viewed

Fortuna, Humboldt County
Fortuna, Humboldt County
 
Ferndale, Humboldt County
Fortuna, Humboldt County
 
Ferndale, Humboldt County
Fortuna, Humboldt County
 

Been to Eel River Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing