We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great staff”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great staff”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the Ocean View on a Tuesday evening without a reservation and was treated very well at the front desk. The second floor ocean view room with a fireplace and spa tub was lovely and restful. It was delightful to sleep with the balcony door open and see and hear the ocean. Other reviewers have commented on the "datedness" of the decor, but the decor was minimal, with the ocean foremost. Yes, the dark burgundy carpet is a little odd, but the room was immaculate. The staff were friendly and helpful and provided great local information. The spa room was definitely worth the money. I hated to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    141
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
71
247
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino Co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice people. Unparalleled views. Immaculate well appointed and utterly private rooms. The total package for an entirely relaxing getaway. And the front desk people welcome you like you are coming home!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendocinoCoLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. The decor was outdated but it was clean and the view was gorgeous. It was wonderful to hear nothing but the waves crashing. It was very relaxing and the short walk to the beach was nice. The staff was friendly. My only complaint would be the lack of a microwave.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have reserved writing this review because I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau based on the way this establishment treated me and my family. I've waited the mandatory month, and I am not surprised to say that Ocean View Lodge, INC has refused to address my grievance...Essentially, after reserving a room in mid-June 2014, we were told that we a)could not stay in said room, and b)were told that we'd still be paying the $183 fee. Oh how that encounter warmed my heart! The reason? We had three children instead of two...our youngest son was able to attend with us because of a successful surgery two days prior, which we had thought might keep him from attending. We have stayed in hotels up and down the state, and have never had such treatment...in fact, the other three hotels we contacted in Fort Bragg were pretty incredulous at the situation, too. Charge me $10, $20, $50 more, but don't leave me high and dry in a town I've never been to! This was certainly the worst service, treatment, and anti-family establishment I have encountered in our family's travels. Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great respite as we travel down the coast. Clean, quiet and fantastic ......I mean Fantastic view. We had an incredibly large room on the 2nd floor with a fireplace and balcony. A western exposure to view the sunset. The office staff were very nice and accommodating. Good location close to all Fort Bragg amenities .

Room Tip: Go for the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the king size rooms with the fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. It was wonderful. The rooms are right on the bluffs and the sound of the waves crashing was amazing to fall asleep to. Like most places in Fort Bragg, the rooms are a bit dated. I am not sure why pinks and blues and greens were decided to be such great hotel/motel room colors. But you are not paying for the room, you are paying for the view. And the view is amazing. Also the staff at the front desk was extraordinarily helpful with providing recommendations and directions. They were awesome. The rooms do get a bit warm in the late afternoon during the summer due to the sun setting directly outside your window, but I think it is a small price to pay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyD0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

While there really isn't any hotel amenities to speak of, what you're paying for is the quiet location (just minutes from downtown) and the view. The front desk folks are friendly. The second floor rooms are more private (note that the first floor rooms are up against a bike/walking trail with people glancing in your room). The Ocean View Lodge is just minutes from the Skunk Train, the botanical gardens, and an assortment of dining options. In my opinion, the view alone is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room if you want to keep your windows and door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing