We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. The decor was outdated but it was clean and the view was gorgeous. It was wonderful to hear nothing but the waves crashing. It was very relaxing and the short walk to the beach was nice. The staff was friendly. My only complaint would be the lack of a microwave.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    113
    19
    12
    10
See reviews for
56
194
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have reserved writing this review because I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau based on the way this establishment treated me and my family. I've waited the mandatory month, and I am not surprised to say that Ocean View Lodge, INC has refused to address my grievance...Essentially, after reserving a room in mid-June 2014, we were told that we a)could not stay in said room, and b)were told that we'd still be paying the $183 fee. Oh how that encounter warmed my heart! The reason? We had three children instead of two...our youngest son was able to attend with us because of a successful surgery two days prior, which we had thought might keep him from attending. We have stayed in hotels up and down the state, and have never had such treatment...in fact, the other three hotels we contacted in Fort Bragg were pretty incredulous at the situation, too. Charge me $10, $20, $50 more, but don't leave me high and dry in a town I've never been to! This was certainly the worst service, treatment, and anti-family establishment I have encountered in our family's travels. Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great respite as we travel down the coast. Clean, quiet and fantastic ......I mean Fantastic view. We had an incredibly large room on the 2nd floor with a fireplace and balcony. A western exposure to view the sunset. The office staff were very nice and accommodating. Good location close to all Fort Bragg amenities .

Room Tip: Go for the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the king size rooms with the fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. It was wonderful. The rooms are right on the bluffs and the sound of the waves crashing was amazing to fall asleep to. Like most places in Fort Bragg, the rooms are a bit dated. I am not sure why pinks and blues and greens were decided to be such great hotel/motel room colors. But you are not paying for the room, you are paying for the view. And the view is amazing. Also the staff at the front desk was extraordinarily helpful with providing recommendations and directions. They were awesome. The rooms do get a bit warm in the late afternoon during the summer due to the sun setting directly outside your window, but I think it is a small price to pay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyD0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

While there really isn't any hotel amenities to speak of, what you're paying for is the quiet location (just minutes from downtown) and the view. The front desk folks are friendly. The second floor rooms are more private (note that the first floor rooms are up against a bike/walking trail with people glancing in your room). The Ocean View Lodge is just minutes from the Skunk Train, the botanical gardens, and an assortment of dining options. In my opinion, the view alone is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room if you want to keep your windows and door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came for my daughters 11th birthday. It was her first trip to the west coast.The Ocean view Lodge and the staff really exceeded my expectations! The room was very clean and spacious. The views were incredible! I most enjoyed the fact that we were not fighting hoards of people for the same beach areas. We had quiet, beautiful walks along the beach in both morning and evenings! Also, the coffee that was supplied for the room was good! The only thing I would like to have had is a microwave in room. We have stayed on both coasts now, the Ocean View Lodge has beat out the Outer Banks as a vacation destination for us! We will definitely return for a longer stay next time we go to the coast! Thanks for the comfortable experience! We hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We go here every year and will come back again and again. Great staff and fantastic access to the ocean, trails, shopping. Everything right at your doorstep. There's no continental breakfast, or in room microwave, but we go for the great view and there's plenty of places to eat just two minutes away. We love you Ocean View!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing