We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, California
2 reviews
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The room was clean and had an amazing view. We have stayed at other comparably priced properties and felt this was "nothing special". We will probably not stay here again. Just average. We expected more for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_n_Msvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    141
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
71
247
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Fl
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here as part of a romantic excursion of the California coast line. After reviewing many comments about the various hotels, we made our reservation at the Ocean View Lodge and we were not disappointed. The location was excellent! The hotel is located right on the Pacific Coast with plenty of walking trails as well as beach access for a walk on the beach. The staff was very friendly and professional from making our reservation to greeting us at our arrival. Our room was on the end of Building Two on the first floor. It was a spacious room with a sitting area and a large bedroom. The room was very clean. The furnishings were very nice and the bed was divine. We had a large picture window which looked out on to the beach and a very nice deck. After walking on the beach, my wife and I sipped a some wine as we watched a beautiful west coast sunset. The whole experience was superb. We totally recommend the Ocean View Lodge due to their location, staff and reasonable cost.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor is just as good as one on the second floor. You have a great view wherever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Considering it was only one night - but a special night we really were glad we chose this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quite spacious. We really didn't use the little living area in front - and appreciated the little night light to help you find the bathroom in the dark. The sliders to the magnificent ocean view were amazing. And the beach access was quite literally outside your room doors. There is a long walking path -- and you just need to be careful about your privacy as people are definitely using the path! I like that you could buy a coffee mug to commemorate your trip. It was a really sweet hotel and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in a room at the end by the office - it was very peaceful indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in March and enjoyed everyone. Everyday was different. The sounds of the ocean from our room complemented the entire extended weekend. It was our first trip to Fort Bragg and we researched our stay. Originally we had planned a Christmas get away, but life got in the way. The hotel staff was understanding and gracious when we had to cancel those plans. We were quite happy to rebook with Ocean View. The staff were thoughtful and professional. When we had trouble with the temperature in our room they took care of it promptly. We were a bit concerned upon driving up to the Lodge as we had no idea they were painting. And we were pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay here again, for the friendly and professional staff, wonderful and relaxing ocean view, and for the quiet which we greatly appreciated. We loved walking along the trail, on the beach, and headlands. You can visit tide pools, see lots of wading birds, Canadian Geese, Kites, seals, Gray Whales in March/April, light houses are just a small excursion away. There was so much to do, we ran out of time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the wonderful Ocean View Lodge in Fort Bragg. Part of the stay was buisness to do a site inspection for tour groups that will be travelling up the coast to Seattle this summer. I searched for several locations that had a beautiful view of the ocean and I chose this one.

I must say the owner really keeps this place up. They were painting the property since being out along the ocean and the salt air can raise havoc. it was just about done when I arrived and it had to be the best looking place along the ocean that I saw. I stayed in a downstairs King room. I alway's like a big room but up there and most places I find there about 350 sq. feet. All of there rooms are over 500 sq. feet which I was amazed.

When I first walked in, the room was fresh and clean. All windows were spotless even the giant window facing the ocean. They have a nice size refrigerator in the room, coffee great heater nice flat screen tv mounted on the wall so it can be turned in different directions . And when you walk in you have a couch and another TV then you step up to the area where the bed is.

I enjoyed the patio overlooking the ocean the chairs were inside as to stay clean. Everyday the sheets were changed the room was spotless. Thank you Bertha for doing such a great job.

Jack is the general manager and wanted to make sure that all of his guests were atended to properly. The rooms upstairs don't have a siting area when you walk in BUT they have a jacuzzi tub that two people can easily fit in plus there is a fireplace in the room. Again spotless.

Ocena view has earned my buisness and I expect to have my groups spend the night there and I am sure they will fall in love with it as I did. Thak you Jack and Ocean View Lodge.

Room Tip: Lots of great restaurants in Fort Bragg. The Lodge is at the Northern end of town. So if you drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willy550us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very relaxing stay. Front desk staff and cleaning staff very thoughtful and professional. Quiet room with wonderful view. Enjoy watching people as they walk past on the trail. Can't say enough about what a comfortable stay this was.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ithebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location is everything and Oceanview is at the perfect place on the coastline. The rooms are spotless and I am extremely picky about cleanliness. The ownership does a great job with maintenance and decor. Ft. Bragg is our decompress destination as it is only a 3 hour drive and we always stay at Oceanview. Great value, great location, great retreat. The view from the room is spectacular and the fresh ocean air, oh man! Just left and already need to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing