We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view does not make up for outdated hotel”
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view does not make up for outdated hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When my husband and I checked in, the hotel clerk gave us instructions to just turn on the heater or turn off, don't try to set it. Also, flip the vent under the refrigerator so heat will come out of that. Well, heat never came on and vent under fridge did not work either, so we basically froze to death. On top of that the smell of fabreeze or whatever cleaning product that was used permeated the whole room. Had to open all doors and air the room out. When all was said and done, with tax, we paid $154.00 for a very poor room. We could not call the desk because it was after 10:00 PM by the time we figured out the heat was not working. Live and learn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewLodge, Manager at Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are very sorry for the problem with the heat in your room. Our manager is onsite and available for emergencies when our office is closed. We consider your heat not working an emergency and would have resolved the problem immediately if it had been brought to our attention. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and guests who are sensitive are welcome to request their room be cleaned without scented products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    151
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
73
266
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived after dark on New Year's Eve. Friendly staff provided us with complimentary bubbly and party hats. Rooms are huge and clean, in decent condition, king size bed comfortable -- but carpets, bathroom and appliances bespeak an 80s/90s style motel. Vistas are amazing, all the more on the second floor for extra charge, but also the only reason to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the November and saw no ants. Loved the layout, cleanliness. It was great to have the paved walk alongside the ocean. This time of year they give a great seasonal discount. Have no idea what it's like during the peak season. Possible too many people for us.

Room Tip: It is a lovely little town although not all the restaurants are open year round. Call first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We should have checked this hotel's ant policy before booking. The hotel knew there was an ant problem but failed to disclose it at booking or check-in. Apparently there is a hotel policy. Per hotel management... "We are currently considering additional options and solutions. We apologize for the inconvenience but the hotel policy is not to do any discounts for ants"
We were overwhelmed with ants. They were in areas where no food had been ... including in our bed, bedside tables, dresser, and floor. If we had known about the ant problem, we would have booked elsewhere or could have taken extra precautions. They did move us to a different room the next morning, which also had ants but we were able to take extra precautions to keep them at bay. Nice hotel, staff was accommodating but this experience has left us disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at ocean view lodge this December and a couple years ago and loved it! We love the view and it is so roomy! The staff is so friendly! We love all the trails you can walk . The man at the front desk showed us on the map they provide how to get to glass beach . They provide a mini refrigerator but not a microwave,it would have been great to have a microwave in the room.The beds were very comfortable and everything seemed clean, although not updated decor. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendycanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love staying here. It is right on the ocean, but most importantly, the rooms are always clean. The rooms are very spacious, and the staff very helpful. Would highly reccomend it to anyone. If I would make any suggestion at all, it would just be to have a microwave in the rooms. Every room has an awesome view, and the hotel is nice and quiet. It is our favorite place to stay in Fort Bragg.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms or double queen rooms are great for family trip. The upstairs rooms are wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Don't let the parking lot and entrance fool you...the view is amazing! We were there celebrating our 20 year anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. We stayed in an upstairs king bed, fireplace with whirlpool jacuzzi tub room and we loved it. The room was very clean and I can't say enough about the view. We sat on our deck and watched the whales all day. If you like to take long walks along the oceanside this is your place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Property: Ocean View Lodge
Address: 1141 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ocean View Lodge offers free continental breakfast each morning for our guest's. We also have Tesla EV Charging stations onsite. Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. The well appointed guestrooms feature Free Wifi, refrigerators, coffee makers and upgraded bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing