We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic clean motel for low cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good basic clean motel for low cost”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here and found it to be a very clean, basic motel. Very inexpensive, friendly staff. Rooms had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee machine. Rooms were large compared to most motel rooms. They have a very clean indoor pool which is a large reason we chose to stay here. Home made muffins in the morning. A good place to stay and was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: The pool is in a separate room, so you may want a room close to the pool if you plan to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Seabird. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The fresh baked muffins for tomorrow morning are: chocolate/chocolate chip, raspberry/white chocolate chip, lemon poppyseed and bran/zucchini.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    97
    43
    11
    7
See reviews for
83
100
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Seabird is good value at under $100 on a weekend night right in the heart of the Northern California Coast. It has no views and the rooms are very basic. But it is located right in Fort Bragg, Calif. near the highway and an easy drive to high-priced Mendocino Village. Our room was very clean, the hosts were extremely friendly and the hotel is pet-friendly as well. This is not the romantic getaway spot but it is affordable and clean.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for staying at the Seabird while visiting the Mendocino Coast. We greatly appreciate your business! Yes, our housekeeping staff does a great job--I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to them. Our upstairs-west facing rooms(17 rooms) have distant ocean-views. When booking your next stay request one--we assign these rooms on a first come first serve basis. There is no extra charge for these rooms.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Staff was super friendly and sweet, they had many ideas for us as far as places to eat, and sights to see. Adorable office atmosphere, very charming and inviting right off the bat. The rooms had a great view of the sea, and we were easily lulled to sleep in a very comfortable bed (i wanted to take THAT home with my shells! haha!). After a long day of hiking on the local beaches, the hot tub and heated pool called our name! I have never seen such a cute hot tub area! Hand painted walls surrounded us with darling butterflies and little frogs hopping along the walls as we sat under a double tiered waterfall that hit right at our tired necks and shoulders. We felt safe as the place is well protected by security cameras, and our rooms came stocked with a fridge, and one of the greatest motel showerheads I have seen in a long time. Lots of water pressure to rinse the sand off, and while the bed was great we couldn't WAIT for morning which brought a choice selection of home made muffins! Some of the flavors were rasperrry white chocolate, lemon and poppyseed, and my favorite: apricot pecan....top that off with their coffee and flavored creamers and you are ready for the days adventures!!! I will definately stay there again soon!

Room Tip: second floor, facing main street give a great ocean front view and close access to pool and hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Glad you had such a nice stay. Thank you for such a nicely written review. It will be shared with our great staff (We think we have by far the friendliest staff of any inn on the Mendocino Coast!) In these tough economic times it is very difficult for small family owned businesses to survive. Your business is very much appreciated. We strive to make each guest's stay a great one! Hope to see you on future trips to the coast.. Please tell your freinds about your great experience at the Seabird Lodge in Fort Bragg.

All of us at the Seabird Lodge



p.s.
I baked chocolate/chocolate chip muffins, bran/zucchini muffins and blueberry muffins this morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, CA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I picked this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The place is far enough from the main street (Hwy 1) that it wasn't noisy.We traveled with another couple and all of us thought it was nice. We found out that the owner also owns the Mendocino Chocolate Factory and they gave us a business card from there with a 10% discount on our purchase. We usually stop in there anyway so it was a bonus. We also got a 10% discount at the Homestyle Cafe located in front of the motel. They are also in the top places to eat in Fort Bragg. The muffins for breakfast are also made by the owner.

There is an indoor pool and spa on site. The pool actually goes to 6 feet in depth and the spa holds around 6 people. The white walls were a little green in places, but I wasn't walking on them. I imagine it can be tough to keep it down with all the steam.

If you aren't a member of the value club, it is worth joining to gat an additional 5% discount over the AAA rate. Unlike a lot of motel programs that give you points, this one is discount up front. That was worth about $5 a night additional savings.

Hair dryers are available in the front office.

Overall, this is a good central location to Fort Bragg and a block from Safeway and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a partial view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chowhound59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Glad you had a nice stay. I agree our staff at the Seabird is very friendly. I think we have the best staff on the coast. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was very good! The room is nice and the bed is not a rock but is comfy. It may not have a fireplace or any bells and whistles of others but it was perfect for a family of four to rest after a long wonderful family visit in fort bragg. The hot tub and pool were a blast for the kids and a definete bonus for the facility..Dog people are always the best people-and these people love dogs.. :) We will stay here again for sure and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmndevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Seabird Lodge. All of us here at the Seabird are glad you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I rate this hotel Excellent not on fancy fittings, furniture or rooms, but on value and service which would be hard to beat for any price. We stayed 4 nights with our dog Biff, the owners are dog people and a picture of each guest with their pet is placed on the wall in the lobby and saved in an album when removed from the wall. The room was large and clean and no evidence of previous pets was present, even Biff couldn't find anything. There was a front door onto the parking lot and a back door onto a small clean enclosed area obviously intended for dogs. Lighting was bright and the WiFi internet worked well. Breakfast was simple but excellent with a good selection of yogurt and excellent muffins made by the owners at their chocolate factory in town, plus the usual bagels, juice etc. We asked many questions of the front desk staff who were all very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is one block off the main street (Highway 1) and opposite the police station but we did not notice any noise from either. This is my first trip with a dog and I might have avoided a 'dog friendly' motel previously but there was no significant downside to this detail here. Biff did have a couple of short barking episodes but from outside the room they were not particularly noticeable, the walls were not paper thin! Although we didn't use them the pool and spa looked welcoming and clean. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killer_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Seabird Lodge. Our entire staff takes pride in providing the kind of service that will make you want to visit us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Last weekend I stayed with my hubby at the Seabird Lodge and my expectations were more than exceeded. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, comfortable, and affordable. The pool and hot tub were an unexpected bonus--perfect for relaxation. The breakfast fare consisted of delicious fresh baked muffins (my favorites were lemon poppyseed and raspberry white chocolate!), juice, and a variety of yogurts. A great value--Why pay Mendocino prices when Fort Bragg is only 10 minutes up highway 1?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
301 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
1.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#9 of 23 in Fort Bragg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn

Property: Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5508 (Formerly Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing