We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Comfy Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfy Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Clean & comfortable - I don't ask much more from a hotel room. This room definitely was both. The fixtures may not be brand new, but the comfortable bed and price more than made up for it.

Location is at the North end of Main St. (Hwy 1), just before you leave Fort Bragg. Very close to beaches and restaurants/shopping. Located on the top of a small hill, so views are pretty good. Drive up hill is pretty nice, though actual building is standard fare.

Kavita at the front desk was extremely helpful with information, and even gave us a free upgrade to an ocean-view! Housekeeping was very efficient and did a good job.

The free breakfast was what you get at most motels - bagels, muffins, coffee, apple juice. Nothing to write home about, but also nothing to complain about.

Location is pretty good - very close to the beach, though on the other side of it. The noise from the freeway may be a bother, but not for one who sleeps like I do. :)

All in all, I'd say I got my money's worth. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dhorko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    183
    126
    33
    26
See reviews for
170
187
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have visited this motel for many years and have just realized that other than family we have not told others of this excellent establishment. The property is well maintained and the entire staff is pleasant and responsive to our needs, The rooms are basic but very clean. the usual TV , hairdryer, iron and refrigerator - but no microwave. The ocean view rooms are great for people and surf watching. They have a large indoor swimming pool and a outdoor play area. You can easily walk to the beach in less than 5 minutes- it's just across the road. Miles of beach and bluff top walks are there for enjoyment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

This first stop of our roadtrip northbound on highway 101... The hotel and staff were super... my only complaint we were not happy to find maid and her children in our room while maid was suppose to be doing her job... two children playing with my grandsons toys in the room and now I am home going thru my personal belongings missing some jewelry... I should have checked right away just so upset right now can not trust anyone!
Lock up everything in your room and pray maid and family dont make self comfortable here in your room while you are out...

I would stay here again but order not room service until check out meaning no "maid service"!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We were told before hand by my cousin that most of the motels are just average in town so weren't expecting too much. The rooms were average but clean. It was located right off the road but you could see the ocean from your rooms in the distance. We looked around for the laundry but couldn't find it. We didn't ask if and where it was as it wasn't that big of a deal. People at desk were nice. The only real downfall was the breakfast. It was really lacking. There was no hot cereal. The muffins were cut into pieces. It was just a really cheap, unappealing presentation. I would probably stay here again as i know it was clean and I felt safe in it and as we drove through town, not sure where else I would stay that would make me feel that way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvamustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Advertised with ocean view. Sure. If you ,looked around the bushes, across the freeway, under the train tressle, and down the bay.....

Rooms were musty, no air conditioner, etc.

We left, drove around , and stayed elsewhere even though it was too late in the day for a refund.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rat5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Kirkland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This place is a total ripoff! Wechose this one specifically for the "ocean view" and "beautifully appointed rooms" that were advertised on the Best Western website. We were travelling for our 10th anniversary and wanted a nice place to rest after travelling down Highway !. We fell for the bogus advertising! When we got there, the only view of the ocean was on the other side of the highway, beyond some sort of dirty-looking lagoon with a trestle over it, and waaaaay off in the distance; we could barely see it. Having worked in the hospitality business, I know that this should not be described as "ocean view." It should have been described as "glimpse of the ocean" or "limited view." The 2nd floor room was old, shabbily furnished, and the bathroom had very low water pressure. Carpets looked dirty. If we had not arrived so late and been so tired, we would have complained, but the staff did not look like they would have cared. The only plus was a clean comfortable bed. We got up early, wolfed down the breakfast, and made a fast getaway, never to return!

Oh, yeah, to all pet owners out there: The place did not accept pets but the owners had their own dog!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed in this hotel last week. Price was not bad but you need to be prepared. We checked in to the hotel and the staff was not very friendly. Not rude, just not friendly. They gave us our ocean view rooms and off we went. The view from the door was the cemetery and the view from the porch was the road with the ocean beyond. It was a warm day so went to turn on the AC. Woops, no AC. Opened the window and that helped some, but got the road noise and there was still no ventilation. Wound up opening the door on both sides to get it cool.

On the positive side, the sunset was beautiful and the room was clean. Slept well even with the road noise. Internet worked well. The best part was it was in Ft. Bragg and I would definitely go back there.

The real question is would I stay there again. Maybe, but not in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge
Address: 1100 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing