We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Sacramento, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No complaints, would stay again”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I feel like this hotel was a good value. Check in and out was efficient and friendly. The room was pretty spotless with new-looking linens and some nice amenities (mini fridge, hair dryer, iron, coffeemaker). The wireless Internet worked perfectly from our room, and they even have a computer set up in the lobby you can use for free if you didn't bring a laptop. The king sized bed was really quite comfortable; in fact, I would say it was one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in. Extra pillows and blankets were already provided in the room. Our room had a view of the Pudding Creek trestle bridge and the ocean behind it. Not exactly majestic crashing surf, but at least you can watch the sunset over the ocean. We didn't have any problems at all with highway noise despite the road being next to us. Continental breakfast was pretty standard but good quality. I appreciated that they had hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. The only problem I can think of is that the heater in the bathroom didn't work, and the HBO channels we were supposed to get for free weren't coming in. Neither thing particularly bothered us.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    199
    135
    35
    29
See reviews for
198
197
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We checked in quite late at night and were told that we should not book through an agent next time because they will give us a cheaper rate but they weren't willing to give us any money back. (Nice to know I've been ripped off before I even stay). We were so tired we just went right to sleep. We woke up the next morning to find the bathroom covered with literally HUNDREDS of ANTS! They were through our clothes and in our motorcycles helmets. We checked out immediately and the front desk barely batted an eyelid when we told them of the problem. After 4 days of trying to lodge a complaint with BW Head office, we were given a $20 gift card for our trouble. Needless to say, we won't be using that card.

  • Disliked — ANTS
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TllBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed here for one night in February, have to say that our initial impressions driving into the carpark were not all that good. There were no other cars or people visible. Checkin was efficient. We were given a room on the top floor which had a view across the highway to the beach beyond. The room was a lot better than we had expected from the outside, good linens, nice beds and fittings. A small table with two chairs and a large picture window looking across to the sea. The road was noisy, but it did quiet down enough to sleep, although noise did start again early in the morning, but to be expected. We walked across to the beach using the tunnel near the hotel entrance which goes under the highway, not for the faint hearted but a lot safer than trying to cross the road. The front desk gave us recommendations for dinner in Fort Bragg, can absolutely recommend the Mendo Bistro, great food, good service at a reasonable price. Breakfast was basic, juice, cereal, bagels etc, but adequate. As mentioned in other reviews there is a cemetary adjoining the hotel but there was a fence being built and I would assume that this will not be so obvious when it is completed, it did not concern us.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Good rate and good location on the north end of Fort Bragg. View of the ocean from the common balcony, decent free breakfast. Staff was helpful. You have to go to or park next to the lobby to use the free wireless internet. Large rooms, good TV with many channels, little refrigerator. Showing its age like most of the hotels in town, but nothing gross. Walking distance to North Coast Brewing and other restaurants (about a half mile), very close to Glass Beach and just a few minutes from the state park.

The dead people next door don't bother anyone, don't have noisy kids, and they don't hog the parking, so don't let other reviewers creep you out.

  • Liked — Price, location, ease of checking in and out.
  • Disliked — No internet in rooms.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnSF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Disappointed from the start. We booked through Expedia and understood the price included all extras. When we arrived, we found that the tax was not included and had to pay an extra $10 or so. The motel blamed it on Expedia, but I considered it the motel's responsibility to insure the accuracy of its booking agent. We paid for an ocean view room, but found the view was partially obstructed by a bridge. Worst of all, our room was infected with ants, which we did not discover until late in the evening (after the office was closed). We reported the problem upon check out, but the desk clerk seemed unconcerned. We won't stay here again.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Ant infestation
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

This Best Western was ok. There was nothing great or nothing horribly bad with it. The cemetery behind the place was like the hotels.com commercial, wierd. Unfortunately, we booked our reservation without reading through the traveladvisor reviews. The furniture in the units need to be updated. It has the look of a 1980's hotel/motel. The beds should also be replaced. They weren't very comfortable at all. I knew people in other rooms and they complained about the beds also. Everyone I talked to (6 other people) thought the beds felt like sleeping on a couch. Our bathroom could also use some help. Our tub was a little on the dirty side (black marks in the tub) and our toilet required holding down the handle for more than just a couple of seconds for it to flush. They should also be replaced. Since we only planned to be there for a couple of days we just dealt with it. Our heater was broken also. We didn't need to use it, so again, no big deal. In my opinion the rooms should have A/C because I've got to imagine in the summer its necessary. Our room was getting a little warm when it was 68 degrees outside. Luckily it was cool outside and we just opened the window. The heated indoor pool was nice. An indoor hottub/spa would be a great addition. The front desk seemed to be very helpful. Curt and to the point, but helpful. Could use a class on friendliness, though. Overall, though, we didn't have any problems that caused us to be miserable, but just wished for a little more from this hotel/motel. We'll probably try another hotel the next time around.

  • Liked — Indoor pool
  • Disliked — Dated furniture, awful beds, and pain in the butt toilet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meteren, Nederland
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Nice hotel which is located outside of the village.
It has free wifi and also a good breakfast.
Most rooms can see the sun goes down into the sea.
The sea is located on the other side of a busy road.
Friendly and helpful staff.
I had a problem with my car and the manager came out to help me immediate.
The breakfast is what you can expect from a BW.
For dinner you can drive to the centre of the town.
When the sun goes down into the sea it is beautiful to look.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Herma_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vista Manor Lodge

Property: Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Address: 1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Vista Manor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing