We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out dated property...high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I guess October is still the high season. Even with AAA the rate was 134. Room was noisy, small and tired. Needs serious updating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadiantravellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 581 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This Best Western Hotel is a good choice while in Fort Bragg in many ways: The rooms are VERY spacious; they have been updated and are clean and comfortable. The breakfast room off the lobby is huge by standards of hotel chains offering free breakfast, and the breakfast was more than adequate. I find that usually hotels make terrible and weak coffee, but the coffee here was quite good. My only real complaint about the hotel is that its "ocean view" is actually first a view of Hwy 101 which passes through town, and it is noisy. I asked the woman at the reception desk whether the noise would die down at night and she assured me that it would. It did, but by 6 a.m., cars were rolling along again. This is fine if you want to get up early and hit the road, but for anyone who might want to sleep late, it would be annoying. The TV in the room was quite old, and the remote had no number buttons, so you could not key in a channel using, for example "4" and "2" for Channel 42; you had only an up and down channel option and so had to go through every channel to get to what you might want to watch. Perhaps the other rooms do not have such an odd channel changer; certainly I have never seen one before last night! But over-all, this is a very pleasant motel and close to the center of town, so it's easy to access restaurants.

Room Tip: "Ocean view" rooms are more expensive; since the whole motel faces the beach (on other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

No complaints about the motel overall. We used it to stay overnight on our drive from Oregon to SFO. The detour from the 101 wasn't the most strategic decision. The wireless internet in the room was barely available. All the reception desk could advise us ranged from " go sit very close to the door" to "better use the wifi signal from neighbouring inn".

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasp_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed only one night in this hotel as we were driving on to San Fran. We were tossing up whether to stay in Mendochino and glad we picked Fort Bragg. It was a bigger town and it had alot more choices for restaurants. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and I must admit the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was good with toast, cereals, waffles, muffins, juice and tea/coffee. The room was clean with a good selection of tv channels. We had a partial seaview room with a balcony, but didn't use it as it was too cold. There was some road noise as the rooms are very close to the road, but nothing that would keep you up at night. The ladies at reception were very helpful and for an overnight hotel this is a good choice, althou you need a car to get into town as it is not right in the town centre. We paid $103.00 usd including taxes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wedgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

A good value for your money in Fort Bragg. I've tried probably 10 hotels in Fort Bragg over the years of visiting my grandparents who live in this town. I'm glad to have finally found the Best Western. I liked the view of the bridge from our second floor room in the most northern building on the site. The room has space and a good layout. The breakfast was decent. I liked the fresh waffles and that they had some fresh fruit, bananas and peaches-except the peaches were rock hard--an unnecessary tease. I've stayed at the hotels across the street and didn't like the lack of privacy because of the pedestrian path. The BW gives you the view without a loss of privacy. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Enjoyed the large ocean view room. Breakfasts were a complete meal in a large living room/dining area in main building. Some traffic noise if you stay in the front building facing ocean, but you can als hear/see waves.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are in front building facing highway -- a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Best Western motels on most of the nights during our recent 3-week family tour of California. We like the BW brand as each property is independenty owned and managed so there is not the sameness often found with some motel chains. We chose the BW Vista Manor Lodge because of its location on Route 1.
This was one of the poorer BW motels we stated at on our tour and was also one of the more expensive. The place lacked atmosphere.....maybe it was the fog!. Rooms are adequate, clean and comfortable. We had rooms with good views of a small river and an interesting wooden bridge. Although on Route 1 we were not disturbed by traffic noise. Buffet breakfast, served in a spacious room, was better than most of the places we stayed at.
A short walk brings you to to the beach, coastal walks and the wooden bridge.
We went to the lively Mendo Bistro on Main Street for dinner and had one of the best ( and the most expensive! ) meals on our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vista Manor Lodge

Address: 1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $134 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Vista Manor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing