We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We arrived very early in the day from a previous nights stay near the Oregon border. The Best Western there was awful and had a sleepless night. After explaining to the young man our experience the night before, he made sure we had a corner room upstairs, which was lovely! We enjoyed the sunset from our room and the beach, though a bit away from the property, was nice to view.

Best of all, he gave us nice directions to get to 101 instead of taking 128 all the way to Napa (cutting off approximately 50 miles) of switch back roads. A much needed respite after traveling the coast of Oregon and Northern California! The continental breakfast was disappointing, compared to other Best Westerns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExBuffaloian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 581 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

the location is quite good and peacefu ( adjacent to a cemetry )but the hotel is very dated and needsa major upgrade , the room had a nice view but was very cold overnight due to a sliding glass door which was poorly insulated, all electrics are very dated. We paid $99 aaa rate which would have been good value if the accomodation had been modernised but in its present condition a rate of $60 would have been more realistic , i think the best western logo has inflated the price for very average accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here as the most northern point on our California road trip, opting for the managers 'seaview special' for c. $125 per night. To be honest, it wasn't worth it. The hotel is located to the north of Fort Bragg and is isolated from the town. It's also just set back from Hwy 1, not that the traffic was a problem. We did have a seaview, but the aforementioned highway did detract from this somewhat. However, it was easy to walk from the hotel to the boardwalk and access the beach, which was a plus.

The room was large and clean, with two queen beds. As other reviewers have mentioned, there was a strong smell of cleaning products as we entered the room. The amenities included a heated pool located behind the dining room used for breakfast. However, it was not very inviting - it was poorly lit and a bit grim really.

I am sure there are better, cheaper options to stay in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were celebrating a annual birthday getaway and experienced a very poorly maintained room. Shower head leaked, drain was slow, toilet seat very loose, outdated room and bathroom, heater covers were hanging off the frames, lamp next to bed didn't work, remote for TV had buttons that didn't work, TV old and fuzzy, beds had old lines and were very hard.........the list goes on and on. I would never stay there again.
We did report these things to the front desk but nor offer for compensation. Poor business!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blamanuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Our family of 2 adults and 2 small children stayed here with another family. The other family booked this motel so I am not sure of its pricing value compared with similiar in the area. The property is quiet, older but decently maintained. The room was drab upon first impression, however with a closer look I noted the nice tile and bathtub in bathroom. There was a refridgerator that worked well. The carpets were decently clean (white sock 'test'). The beds were comfortable, although next time I would bring my own pillow. The plus of having a first floor room was the sliding door out to a 'lawn' area where the kids could play (we had the partial ocean view building). The negative to the first floor room was the 2nd night I think all the people above us did all night long was walk back and forth and you could really hear that. The kids swam in the pool 2 days and enjoyed it. The staff was courteous. The continental breakfast offerings were good. Fresh waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels and toast, fresh fruit, juices and coffee, cereal and oatmeal packets. (the in room coffee was very good also). The last morning we were there the breakfast room was crowded. Our group of 6 had nowhere to sit. I would advise management here that during the breakfast hours they maybe ask people who are taking up a breakfast table doing nothing but working on a Laptop to maybe move over to the sitting area of the room and free up the table for guests who want to eat breakfast. Beach access is right across the road which was nice. Overall I might stay here again after checking the prices of some fo the motels that have direct beach access.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravilinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Clean grounds and tidy rooms. Yes the bathrooms are a bit dated but showers are new with high shower heads for taller people like me. Great beds and pillows. Sheets comfy, and clean. I wiped all the surfaces off with Chlorox wipes for sanitation reasons but found no dust. This is something we do in all rooms while traveling. Breakfast was good with lots of choices including my favorite oatmeal. Others enjoyed muffins, cold cereal, orange juice, hot chocolate and good hot coffee.
A short walk down the driveway and through the tunnel takes one to the beach where one can fly a kite, beach comb, wade the surf, and walk or rest. Just a nice place. Walking up to the wooden bridge takes one north to many more beautiful beaches, ponds, and bridges. Walking South takes one to Glass Beach (10 minutes walk) where people love to search for bits of colored glass.
Hotel is a good location for exploring.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scienceguy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We've stayed here with small children three times over the years and have always had a nice stay. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and comfortable. The breakfast has all the basics, but nothing fancy; as a big added bonus, the dining area is very spacious so you can relax without being cramped. It's located on the north end of town, which is very quiet. Also right across the street from the beach. While the ocean views are indeed limited, it's still quite nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy; great sunset views too! The hotel staff have always been very friendly and helpful. It has an indoor pool and plenty of grassy areas for the kids to play; the grounds are actually quite nice.

I think some of the negative reviews below are unfair. This is NOT a beach resort, but it's the perfect bargain hotel for families, with some of the nice extras mentioned above and none of the real downers I've experienced elsewhere. Regarding the cemetary located over the back fence -- if this were a historic B&B, that would be considered part of the charm! Again, all about having realistic/fair/sensible expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyTom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vista Manor Lodge

Address: 1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $134 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Vista Manor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing