We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mixed Experience, But We Would Not Return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weller House Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Mixed Experience, But We Would Not Return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

It is so hard to summarize our feelings about the Weller House Inn. Some good things, some not so good. Unfortunately, we cannot recommend it.

The good things: Clean room (except for the ants, which we were told are a recurring problem on the first floor); great hot breakfast buffet (if you arrive early, otherwise the food sits and gets cold), plenty of hot water in the bathroom, quiet location (except that the train tracks are 1 1/2 blocks away and every morning at 6:45 am the train gave a toot when it crossed the nearby street), wine and cheese at 5pm.

Not so good: the innkeepers, Vivian and Jack, are very nice but not too well organized, I think. Their office on the first floor is a mess (they plan to move it to the 2nd floor and convert the office to a reception area/reading room/dance lesson room), and the discounted rate we signed up for was not shown on our final bill. We were there for 3 nights and the last day our room was not cleaned or the bed made. Vivian told us that their housekeeper was on a 1-month vacation and she had forgotten to clean our room (there were only 2 other guests that night). "We'll make it up to you tomorrow!" she said, not realizing that we were leaving the next morning. No discount on the bill, of course, and no apology.

More not so good: the room was chilly our entire stay. Vivian said the room had radiant heating in the floor, and that the room would heat up in 30 minutes. It took 24 hours. Also, when the occupants of the upstairs room took showers in the morning, it was so loud in our room, we were forced to get up a lot earlier than we had planned.

The innkeepers are enthusiasts about Argentine Tango and hold lessons and dances on the third floor. I don't know what it would be like to stay in the inn when a dozen dancers are pounding away on the wooden floor. I recommend you check their schedule to see if a dance coincides with your stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GelatoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    22
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
77
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Walked in front door to dark, cluttered hallway & viewed bedrooms w/open doors immediately off hallway to left and right. What was once probably parlor and dining room have been converted to bedrooms, so there is no common reception or parlor area - just rooms off a hall, giving the appearance of an old house converted to an apartment building. On the upside, the innkeeper was friendly & the rooms clean. On the downside, this is basically an old creaky house with an overall tired appearance despite past renovations. All bedroom wall surfaces are covered in large-patterned pseudo-Victorian wallpaper, and the decorating scheme includes lots of lace, crocheted toilet paper and tissue box cozies and small antique chairs totally unfunctional for comfortable seating, leaving just the bed for sitting (remember, no parlor). The garden is neglected, the lawns brown - not at all as pictured on the website. Resident children were noisily running up and down stairs, through halls, slamming doors, playing in flower beds outside of guest rooms...not a quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

Eating breakfast required climbing steep stairs to a 3rd floor dimly lit mostly empty attic space (they call the "ballroom"), which could be a significant challenge for some guests.

Overall, this property does not live up to the images depicted on its website, and does not provide comfortable amenities. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

Oh how we were looking forward to a weekend getaway! Our mindset was to have the sweetest time together and explore the beaches. When we arrived, the mainhouse was in total disarray! The managers had not unpacked and the kitchen looked like mine!! (I could've stayed home to look at dishes in the sink.) We were compensated with free botanical garden tickets since there is no longer a hot tub. The gardens were wonderful! We jokingly insisted on breakfast, even though many people were sent to the local cafes. Vivien made us a delicious breakfast and we enjoyed her company by engaging her in conversation. The Heather was the perfect room for us. Once Vivien and Sonny finally unpack, this will be a fine place to stay. As for us, we decided it was romantic and fun because we were on a much needed holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

Lovely place and we would definitely go back. The house is a terrific 3 story Victorian that was restored by the owner and the decor and ambience are exceptional. We stayed in the Tulip room which is on the second floor and is large and has a nice view, although to be honest there is not that much to look at in Fort Bragg, which is not the fault of this B&B. All of the rooms are decorated in antique style, even the bathrooms. The food was terrific. Eva, one of the owners, was working the days we stayed there and she was a terrific hostess. She provided a great choice of breakfast options which always included some kind of proper breakfast entree and not the normal minimalist fare you get in a lot of B&Bs.

  • Liked — The Victorian decor
  • Disliked — Immediate neighborhood is not all that interesting
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdnepari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our room was beautiful and very comfortable but the lavish breakfast was completely missing. Advertised as being served from 8 until 9:30 we almost completely missed it by arriving at 9:10 the first morning. The second morning we were in at 8 due to having to drive several hours to catch a plane. The breakfast never arrived prior to 8:35 when we left after having only a dry corn muffin and some OJ. We were thankful for the nearby starbucks.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the absent advertised lavish breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakesmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

The new innkeeper has been in residence for two months and has not stretched her culinary wings as of yet. She is into organic and local --which translated into the same breakfast 3 days in a row. A very bland uninteresting, overcooked zucchini fritata. If you want to wait for coffee, the meal to come together in stages, and dislike seasoning or variation in your diet ,this is the place for you.
Part of the problem is that the food is served on the third floor --necessitating her repeatedly climbing endless stairs. She seemed unable to completely pull it together. Her bread and corn muffins were the best of the lot. Afternoon wine was the high point. A very nice interesting local wine was served each day. It was evident that some thought had been given to each selection. Unfortunately-- with a single slab of cheese, some Rykrisp, no plates napkins etc were in site... Maybe the details will be forthcoming.
The room was attractive, a little worn, small and oddly arranged. The sink or bathtub could be in the room next to the bed...
Save your money and go to the Rendevous Inn on Main Street. The attention to detail and food there are amazing. The price is also better.

  • Liked — The architecture of the house, the water tower view, location to the ocean and the gardens
  • Disliked — The breakfast and the setup of the room. I viewed most of them and they were similiar in odd arrangement
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblingrochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Read the fine print and beware! If you cancel your reservation with less than ten day's notice, and Weller House does not resell your room, you will be charged the full amount of the stay you booked. You will not be charged for only the first day, but for every day you booked. With wildfires raging, our destinations of Big Sur and nearby Mendocino declared disaster areas by the Governor of California, Weller House was still unwilling to change their policy, unless we were willing to lock in a new reservation date.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Property: Weller House Inn
Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals (organic since 2008). The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday FOLK DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing