We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we found the Weller House Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Weller House Inn to your Saves list
Weller House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   524 Stewart Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we found the Weller House Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a beautiful Inn! Our room was comfortable and charming. Breakfast was delightful. The Inn keeper was very accommodating. My daughter and I had a very nice time. I love historic homes. A very nice experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I are staying with our daughter and son-in-law and, as a joint birthday present, they surprised us with a weekend away to Fort Bragg. As we have all enjoyed B&B's in various locations around the world, my daughter looked online and found Weller House, particularly as it was pet-friendly so that we could take the dog too.

First impressions were not good: the front porch was windswept and generally looked neglected. Although it was after 4 o'clock when we arrived, there was no-one to welcome us, just a note on the door with a telephone number to call the innkeeper. We eventually contacted her and we're admitted to the house where we were bizarrely shown every room! My daughter had reserved a specific room for my husband and I (based on online photographs) but she was not happy with it at all and asked if there was another one available. Luckily there was and we stayed in the Midsummer Room, which was fine.

My daughter and son-in-law were told that their room was not quite ready and had to wait until after 5 o'clock before it was available. They stayed in Abalone, which was in the tower. It was a small room, crammed full of furniture, with the bath and handbasin actually in the room! Also, although there was a shower above their bath, there was no shower curtain.

The view from the top of the tower was fantastic and we spent quite sometime up there; in particular enjoying a pre-dinner glass of wine on the Friday evening.

Breakfast was fine, although it could have been warmer. It was freshly cooked (porridge and an egg dish) but was just left out on the counter. Also it would have been nice to have been greeted by our hostess each day. We only actually saw Vivian on the one morning.

All in all, our stay at Weller House was okay but, for the money charged, it should have been fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IreneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivtango, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we have redesigned the room (Raven, not Abalone) which you stayed in, so there is more space, and the custom-made copper rod for shower curtain is now installed. Sorry you didn't enjoy having a tour of the main house - most guests select this place on purpose because of the historic decor and are interested to discover various details. As for only being here on one of the mornings during your stay, I apologize but after several years working 7 days per week, I now try to get a day off now and then, when there is staff capable of taking good care of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The historic Weller House was a fantastic find!

We settled into a cozy rear room, (The Lily Room) complete with fireplace and tastefully decorated in period antiques. We didn't need the fireplace as the weather was warm. Through the window we could see the garden and chicken coop (fresh eggs for breakfast!)

If you try the orange marmalade you'll be hooked. Buy a jar to take with you. I believe Vivien's son makes it in the Weller House kitchen.

The current Owner, Vivien, took us on a tour after breakfast, including the top floor's large open space. These days it's used for dances and live music (or rented for weddings or similar gatherings) but at one time it was used for Baptist church services!

This was a very good 'base camp' for trips into Fort Bragg and Mendocino. We didn't ride on the Skunk Train, but we did hear the train whistle, and ran to the outside stairs to watch.

We could have easily "camped out' in our room for a few days and unwound from our go-go live in silicon valley.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The inn is next to the Skunk train and walking distance to town. The view from the third floor of the tower is amazing. The food at breakfast was adequate. The gardens had definitely seen better days. The chickens and black cat were cute. The attention to details is lacking. The soap dish was broken in the shower so the soap sliver rested precariously on the part that attaches to the tile. The exterior needs power washing and some maintenance. The third day we arrived back to a dirty room. Vivian came and brought fresh towels and made the bed, but the trash was overflowing and no sanitizing. She was helpful in suggesting local attractions. We did go to the Botanical Gardens and the cliff views were gorgeous. The State Parks offered great day hikes (tip: go hike to the Pygmy Forest)

I posted this review on Yelp and she posted a reply with the last line that read "If you want to see fancy gardens in the winter, just a couple miles south of here is the remarkable Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens (they use roundup and a vast staff of volunteers instead of chickens to keep things tidy). If you want more winter color, there are several interesting cemeteries in the region, with a scattering of bouquets and plastic flowers". Hmmmm

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmh2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Weller House multiple times, most recently in February 2014, and have been impressed both the innkeepers ability to cater effortlessly for both romantic weekends and family getaways. We prefer the more laid back, blue collar atmosphere of Fort Bragg over Mendocino ostentation, but still want to feel pampered in Victorian charm, and the Weller House has always delivered.

For family visits, the Weller House is walking distance from the downtown shops and restaurants and literally across the street from the Skunk Train. Its also an easy 10 min walk to Glass Beach and to the newly connected haul road to MacKerricher State Park (We wish we had brought our bikes). The room costs are higher than some other B&Bs we've stayed at in Fort Bragg, but they have a number of very large rooms with King/Queen or King/Twin combos that are fine for a family of 3 or 4 and which we found cheaper than renting two B&B rooms elsewhere. There are several common areas with books and games that would be of interest to children and adults. We loved the range of breakfast foods, especially the tasty egg/cheese dishes and fresh fruit, but there were toast and cereal items for kids.

For the romantic couple experience, the large rooms are pleasant for lounging with comfortable sitting areas that allowed us to feel like we had the run of the house even though families were present. We chose a room with a clawfoot tub for the Victorian B&B experience. The innkeepers were available when we needed them for making dinner arrangements but knew when to leave us alone. They also have a range of optional amenities for couples that we didn't use, such as tango lessons in the beautiful third floor ballroom which has sitting areas with views.

The gardens are large with water features and sitting areas, but the plantings and small fish pond needed gardening care. During previous visits, we found the gardens a nice place to relax. It wasn't an issue for us on this stay and our recent drought may have affected the ability to maintain what can be a wonderful small and inviting garden.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms in the house for their Victorian charm and because most are large and good fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: The delicious egg dishes at breakfast come in part from the colorful and playful chickens in the coop on the property. Its worth taking a look and watching them follow you back and forth (presumably looking for snacks).
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fried-Rice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived on a rainy afternoon, the owner and her staff welcomed us to a great, cozy, warm room, hot tea and beautiful house! Great breakfast both mornings, all amenities as promised. What a great location, a block away from the main street and near the historic downtown. An awesome ballroom on the top floor! The grounds are so pleasant that even a deer greeted me one late morning as she ate some grass... Amazing! The top of the water tower is a true grand view of the Pacific and over the whole town. Hope to come back soon and try one of the other rooms. Well worth it!!! Thanks, Vivian, Angelina and the rest of the staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Cozy cute victorian style rooms, amazing breakfast in the morning, friendly owner, great rental room for weddings or parties- amazing acoustics, breathtaking view from the highest point in town of the ocean

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Abalone room- windows on all sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgmwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Property: Weller House Inn
Address: 524 Stewart Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, breakfast room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis, 4 rooms have fireplaces. Breakfast upgrade only when you want it. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals have been organic since 2008. Optional Breakfast upgrade features the freshest local and organic ingredients, including eggs from our own Chicken Coop. The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dances and occasional live music concerts put the extraordinary studio-quality acoustics to good use -- no artificial amplification necessary! Regular social Argentine Tango Weekends feature world-class instructors, and since 2009 the annual Dancing Fools' TangoFest takes place on the weekend closest to April 1st. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing