We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B in beautiful, historic house...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weller House Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
1 review
“Charming B & B in beautiful, historic house...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived on a rainy afternoon, the owner and her staff welcomed us to a great, cozy, warm room, hot tea and beautiful house! Great breakfast both mornings, all amenities as promised. What a great location, a block away from the main street and near the historic downtown. An awesome ballroom on the top floor! The grounds are so pleasant that even a deer greeted me one late morning as she ate some grass... Amazing! The top of the water tower is a true grand view of the Pacific and over the whole town. Hope to come back soon and try one of the other rooms. Well worth it!!! Thanks, Vivian, Angelina and the rest of the staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
66
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Cozy cute victorian style rooms, amazing breakfast in the morning, friendly owner, great rental room for weddings or parties- amazing acoustics, breathtaking view from the highest point in town of the ocean

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Abalone room- windows on all sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgmwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent this last weekend at the Weller House, and it was amazing. It was charming, spotlessly clean and cozy. The room we stayed in had a huge whirlpool tub and an incredibly comfortable bed that had us sleeping in until 10:30 - we came late to breakfast time and they didn't even blink, serving up fresh eggs, scones and orange juice. The lady who runs the place is fascinating (speaks a half-dozen European languages, has traveled the world for decades, and clearly is a great cook!) She was super friendly and helpful, orienting us to everything to do (and eat..) in the area and taking the time to share the history of the house and the town. She also hosts two dances a week in her top-floor ballroom - swing and salsa - and the occasional tango Milonga. We loved it and will absolutely be back. I'm a total fan.

Room Tip: The "Aqua" room is wonderful - huge tub, sunset view and not too much sun in the morning i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkWHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found The Weller House on Groupon and I'm so glad I did. We stayed in the Iris room and it was delightful and charming. We paid $140 for the night. I would probably not stay here if I had to pay full price but for the deal we had, it was well worth it. They served fresh eggs from their chickens for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Weller House Inn- One of the most historical places in Fort Bragg is the The Inn was built in 1886. It’s on the National Register of Historic places. It is 10,000 sq ft. I stayed in one of the 7 rooms in the house. They’ve all been renovated. There’s a water tower on the property that has the highest view in the town and has 2 separate rooms to stay in the tower itself. Also, inside the Inn, at the very top, is a large dance floor, which Vivian LaMothe, the owner, has rented to world class dancers of social Argentine tango. She herself is an avid tango dancer. She is starting to expand her business for weddings. This is a wonderful venue as the rooms hold up to 28 people. The food is all organic. A lovely bed and breakfast. For more information, go to: www.wellerhouse.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPAMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivtango, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed the place.

There is one slight correction I'd like to make - although it is perfectly cozy for small gatherings, our 900 square foot ballroom officially seats 52, and accommodates 112 standing. I'm tempted to say it can fit 224 close embrace tango dancers, but am not sure the fire department would agree! In any case, it's a good place for all sorts of parties and dances.

Just last Saturday we had live tango music, and starting November 10 we will have live music on most Sunday evenings 6 - 9 pm, for a different dance every week of the month (swing, salsa, and tango for the first three Sundays of the month, and our 4th Dimension Film night on the 4th Sunday, focused on historic films (particularly, those rich in dance or food scenes)

Hope you can come back sometime soon!

all the best,
Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our week long road trip. I found The Weller House on Groupon and I'm so glad I did. We stayed in the Iris room and it was delightful and charming. We paid $140 for the night. I would probably not stay here if I had to pay full price but for the deal we had, it was well worth it.

The breakfast was delightful. Eggs cooked to order, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, tasty breads and amazing jams.

Fort Bragg is a VERY charming small town with lots of interesting folks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramneto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Historic house , great views , a stroll to the beach as well as dowtown's store and restaurants. Our visit includes an organic breakfast, the inn keeper's son makes the best marmalade ever. The eggs are fresh as you can get as the chickens are on the property, ( but clean n quiet). A real treat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guccisfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Property: Weller House Inn
Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals have been organic since 2008. The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday ENGLISH COUNTRY DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing