We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst!”
Review of Grey Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grey Whale Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Upper Lake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Owner (who checked us in) was rude from the start and smelled of alcohol. We were promised a certain room and given another. Breakfast was scheduled for 9 AM and it never happened. We were promised a credit for the breakfast and never received one. The hotel was vacant except for one other guest. We were allowed free access to all floors where we found many of the rooms in disarray. My family will never stay there again and certainly will never recommend this inn. It's beyond me as to how this place can stay open with such shoddy accommodations and with an owner who is so rude to his guests. Really like the resident cat!

Room Tip: Choose another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Guy on check in was quite friendly and polite, but the place itself is tired, tired, tired! We spent a night here and the room was ok, but was in need of some TLC. The 14" CRT tv was tiny with poor reception and the window frames needed a lick of paint. The cat was spooky, meouwing at our door at midnight, sent shivers down my spine. Breakfast was tasty though, but maybe slow to come out

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColandShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there last minute as we were passing though the awfull place that is fort bragg, the hotel is a old hospital built 1919 with ghosts whom must have been cleaners the place needs a good scrub and some new bedding the room we were given smelt damp and the sheets and bedding had seen better days. No tv and bad sealing windows. The website boasts a good breakfast , the coffee was warm and not enough for all the guests the guy in the kitchen seemed harassed as the dining room was full 12 guests ooh , cooked breakfast was buffet style and it came out four portions at a time while you could feast on juice and fruit as you waited. The best part was when my key did not open the room door and I asked the guy at the desk , he said just wiggle it about . He had given me the wrong key. There is other people using this hotel / hostel that seem like they could be on benefits from govt. best part of the place is the cat sweet pea that claws at your door during the night and meows, oh and the wide doors so you can get out quick.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved this place. I loved the history of it being a hospital before it was a B & B. The owner was very friendly, open and made wonderful breakfasts for us. We enjoyed the Skunk Train and the natural beauty and charm of the area. It wasn't cluttered with tourists traps in Ft Bragg like so many other areas.

Room Tip: This is very laid back. If you expect to get waited on hand and foot, or have a typical tourist trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were staying in a beautiful room, played pool and had an excellent breakfast! A bit pricy, but it is very much worth it!!! We were with four persons in a room, which was excellent, more then enough space! The hotel is a place full of memories. Cozy and a nice experience. I hope to go back here once again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemiek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grey Whale for 3 nights. We returned after having stayed here 20 years ago and remembering it fondly. When we arrived we noticed that the front of the Inn looked very different with an out-of-control, overgrown and rambling garden. Once inside, we saw no one, so had to ring the innkeeper who answered his phone and came to check us in. The ground floor was quite dark and gloomy looking, but we went upstairs to our Mendocino Coast room, and although the bedroom part was quite small, it was well decorated and had lots of light from the windows. Only after unpacking did we realize that there was hardly no place to put our clothing away. A large armoir had no pole to hang anything on, so only took up space and had one drawer to use, in back of a wing chair that had to be moved to find some space. A narrow makeshift closet had been cut into the wall with 6 hangers for our clothing. The TV was an antique 12 inch one with snowy reception, and we soon realized that the traffic noise from Hwy. 128 would not allow us to keep the windows open.
Subsequently, we realized that the innkeeper was also the cook at breakfast with no other help. Breakfast was basically good (granola with fruit, scrambled or poached eggs and a few potatoes), but he did not offer juice until we asked for it, had no sugar for coffee, and usually disappeared back into the kitchen without offering more coffee or any kind of baked goods.
Another issue was that the back door was left unlocked 2 of the 3 nights when we returned and there was no on on duty, so it felt eery being in that big building and feeling that it was largely empty, except for the house kitty!
The Grey Whale is an interesting, historic building, has many great antiques and artwork, and is basically clean, but we were anxious to leave after two nights. All in all, this B & B doesn't offerenogh charm or friendliness to justify the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Grey Whale in early August on a trip from San Francisco to Eureka. It is a charming Inn with very quirky and interesting art decorating the hallways. The owner was extremely friendly, expecially when we arrived late on the first night of our stay. We had the Sunset room which had a great view of quirky Fort Bragg.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Fort Bragg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Property: Grey Whale Inn
Address: 615 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3240
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Whale Inn offers vacation lodging amidst comfort and laid back Mendocino Coast elegance. The Inn, a classic architecture of old-growth redwood, is a premier oceanfront inn in historic downtown Fort Bragg. Within walking distance of a great selection of restaurants, the internationally award winning North Coast Brewery, Glass Beach, the Skunk Train, art galleries, a culinary center, and the historic downtown shopping area. Experience the real Mendocino personality at the Grey Whale Inn. We no longer provide a breakfast. However, there are many wonderful local dining locations within walking distance of the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grey Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing