We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Fort Bragg
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
38
14
12
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
38
14
12
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset room wide hallways private bath top floor room was large small refrigerator yogurt grey whales coast ocean hairdryer heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 80 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grey Whale Inn on our honeymoon. We were taking a tour of the west coast and Fort Bragg was a stop on our way. Upon arrival we felt immediately welcomed by the cozy vibe of the hotel and our room was clean and adorable. We enjoyed our evening out for dinner in Fort Bragg and the next morning we were warmly greeted by Mike for breakfast in the dining area. Mike prepared our breakfasts both mornings (outstanding and fresh, he uses the herbs grown from garden at the Inn) and offered us some helpful sightseeing tips! Later that evening we took advantage of the Inn's game room - we played pool, foosball, and enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere that the Inn has to offer. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here for two nights and fell in love with the place! The owner, Mike, takes so much pride in his hotel and making sure that all the guests are fully attended to. We were even upgraded; as a larger room was available during the stay. Our room was spectacular! It was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable with access to kettle in the communal kitchen, it also looked over the wild and colourful garden (Although we would have been happy in any of the rooms). The breakfast was wonderful, freshly prepared by Mike himself, including fresh herbs and flowers from the garden. The Hotel had so much character. Lined with old photographs and books about the history of the area, as well as a recreation area downstairs with more books, a fireplace and pool table. Not forgetting the wonderful house cat Sweet Pea, who loved to come and say hello. This was one of the most memorable places we have stayed and hope to return again soon!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_e_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I headed south from Washington state with the only destinations of glass beach and big sur. it was a trip of healing as we had recently gone through tragedy. Each day had been refreshing, but when we decided to stay in fort Bragg for the night, a spark was lit. We were lucky enough not to get a room in the first place we checked. The grey whale inn was a treasure in value, decor, hospitality, location and vibe. The room was a step into a Victorian dream and the garden felt like an adventure into wonderland, only steps from the converted hospital. It will always be a fond memory on our journey to the south. We hope to return one day.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calbert82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're on a holiday passing through Fort Bragg/Mendocino area taking in all the sites... but if you're planning on attending the Living Light Culinary Institute this is a fabulous place to stay. Michael is so accommodating and will do everything he can to make sure your stay is relaxing and restful. You'll enjoy a private room, laundry, a community kitchen with all the "foodie" things you need and it's a two block walk to school every morning. You simply can't beat it for price, comfort and location. Perfect!

Room tip: They're all unique and comfortable. Some have little in room refers, fireplaces etc. and some with sitting rooms, but they're all charming.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenAnne1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from a very pleasant, relaxing stay at the Grey Whale Inn, Fort Bragg, CA. I was well received and was given many hiking recommendations! The breakfast is to die for!
I'd recommend this place to anybody!! There's also a garden in the front so you can enjoy the community spirit of Fort Bragg! Thanks Mike, Sweet pea (the cat), and Boots (the cat)! I will definately return the next time I'm on the coast.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megginlindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews