We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best surprise of our west coast road trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grey Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Whale Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best surprise of our west coast road trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I headed south from Washington state with the only destinations of glass beach and big sur. it was a trip of healing as we had recently gone through tragedy. Each day had been refreshing, but when we decided to stay in fort Bragg for the night, a spark was lit. We were lucky enough not to get a room in the first place we checked. The grey whale inn was a treasure in value, decor, hospitality, location and vibe. The room was a step into a Victorian dream and the garden felt like an adventure into wonderland, only steps from the converted hospital. It will always be a fond memory on our journey to the south. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calbert82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're on a holiday passing through Fort Bragg/Mendocino area taking in all the sites... but if you're planning on attending the Living Light Culinary Institute this is a fabulous place to stay. Michael is so accommodating and will do everything he can to make sure your stay is relaxing and restful. You'll enjoy a private room, laundry, a community kitchen with all the "foodie" things you need and it's a two block walk to school every morning. You simply can't beat it for price, comfort and location. Perfect!

Room Tip: They're all unique and comfortable. Some have little in room refers, fireplaces etc. and some wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenAnne1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from a very pleasant, relaxing stay at the Grey Whale Inn, Fort Bragg, CA. I was well received and was given many hiking recommendations! The breakfast is to die for!
I'd recommend this place to anybody!! There's also a garden in the front so you can enjoy the community spirit of Fort Bragg! Thanks Mike, Sweet pea (the cat), and Boots (the cat)! I will definately return the next time I'm on the coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megginlindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been coming here for ten years. This is a fabulous place! We absolutely love it. Unlike many B&Bs, the Grey Whale Inn resists a single defining image. This B&B was built as a hospital in 1915 -- hence the wide hallways and large guest rooms. Each room is unique and spacious. We love the game room with a pool table and foosball which I played endlessly with my daughter. Just eight miles north of artsy Mendocino, with its Victorian picture-postcard village full of galleries and trendy restaurants the Grey Whale is a welcome reprieve from the sugar coated kitschy ambience of Mendocino. We had breakfast in the beautiful Craftsman-style breakfast room (built by the owner Michael Dawson) discussing food and art with the other guests in the Inn, many of whom are students at the Living Light Culinary Institute. In addition, the inn features many artists whose works include handmade paper, photography, painting, print, ceramics (the owner is a ceramic artist) and more. On your walk trough the inn and the exquisite garden you will find many interesting art pieces that are among the finest anywhere. I saw beautiful woodcuts by Donna Fenstermaker, an artist from Oakland, the finest hand blown glass by glass artist Eric Eiserling, and photographs by the late Hugo Steccati, one of the most important architectural photographers to document modern Bay Area history. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the most interesting place to stay in Fort Bragg. Once a hospital, the building has been completely renovated. The rooms are large, most with full baths, large comfortable beds, very nice sheets, towels and amenities, and beautiful art. The owner Mike is a potter, so pottery lines the building halls along with wonderful patchwork quilts on most walls. Like many buildings in this area, redwood paneling also lines the walls. The inn boasts two large kitchens, completely outfitted should you like to cook, an incredible vegetable garden,a large breakfast room with fireplace and a very friendly cat named Sweet Pea. Living Light students - this is absolutely the place to stay. The kitchen has Vitamixer, dehydrator, Cuisinart, etc for all of your desires..and a stove just in case! Ask Mike for special rates. I will return.

Room Tip: Mike will show you every room available. They are all good. Fort Bragg is very quiet, so noise is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This B&B should be called the Beached Whale. Adjectives to describe our room are depressing, decay, decrepit, basically a dump. No romantic atmosphere for our 6th year anniversary. The medicinal smell gave me a whooping headache but it could have been the mold growing on the window panes, the worn carpet, or the pre-fab plastic shower. No place to hang clothes as the armoire was stuck shut, and the only amenities in the room was a bar of soap. Our view was of telephone poles and beat up neighboring houses. The tv was a tiny relic from the seventies. The landscape outside was neglected, even the sign. The innkeeper was angry, prejudicial and insulting when we expressed our displeasure with our room. And yet the place was empty so why didn't he have a clue??? We decided to end our stay rather than endure another night. What a rip off. We've stayed in many other B&Bs in Mendocino and around the world, and we've never been treated so badly and had so little enjoyment from a vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were 2 nights in Grey Whale Inn in 2006 or 2007.
The Inn has charm and certain characteristics that make it a cute place to be for us Europeans (German and Spanish). We followed the grey whale migrations along the Californian coast and these part of California is one of our most beloved ones. The Inn has a-temporal feeling, and the decoration is interesting (pathwork, US style). What I did not like is the fact that there were cats in the Inn, and our bed cover had a cat (urine) smell.
I personally like pets but I am not fond of their wandering about an Inn, and not specially the bed I am going to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eepfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Property: Grey Whale Inn
Address: 615 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3240
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Whale Inn offers vacation lodging amidst comfort and laid back Mendocino Coast elegance. The Inn, a classic architecture of old-growth redwood, is a premier oceanfront inn in historic downtown Fort Bragg. Within walking distance of a great selection of restaurants, the internationally award winning North Coast Brewery, Glass Beach, the Skunk Train, art galleries, a culinary center, and the historic downtown shopping area. Experience the real Mendocino personality at the Grey Whale Inn. We no longer provide a breakfast. However, there are many wonderful local dining locations within walking distance of the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grey Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing