We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$201
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Lodge(Fort Bragg)
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glass Beach Inn(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$170
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebb Tide Lodge(Fort Bragg)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Manor Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
$180
$173
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Living Light Inn(Fort Bragg)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
38
12
10
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
12
10
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet peasunset roomquirky placeglass beachnew ownerssmall refrigeratorocean sidetop floorwhalesfelinehairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're on a holiday passing through Fort Bragg/Mendocino area taking in all the sites... but if you're planning on attending the Living Light Culinary Institute this is a fabulous place to stay. Michael is so accommodating and will do everything he can to make sure your stay is relaxing and restful. You'll enjoy a private room, laundry, a community kitchen with all the "foodie" things you need and it's a two block walk to school every morning. You simply can't beat it for price, comfort and location. Perfect!

Room Tip: They're all unique and comfortable. Some have little in room refers, fireplaces etc. and some with sitting rooms, but they're all charming.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenAnne1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from a very pleasant, relaxing stay at the Grey Whale Inn, Fort Bragg, CA. I was well received and was given many hiking recommendations! The breakfast is to die for!
I'd recommend this place to anybody!! There's also a garden in the front so you can enjoy the community spirit of Fort Bragg! Thanks Mike, Sweet pea (the cat), and Boots (the cat)! I will definately return the next time I'm on the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megginlindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been coming here for ten years. This is a fabulous place! We absolutely love it. Unlike many B&Bs, the Grey Whale Inn resists a single defining image. This B&B was built as a hospital in 1915 -- hence the wide hallways and large guest rooms. Each room is unique and spacious. We love the game room with a pool table and foosball which I played endlessly with my daughter. Just eight miles north of artsy Mendocino, with its Victorian picture-postcard village full of galleries and trendy restaurants the Grey Whale is a welcome reprieve from the sugar coated kitschy ambience of Mendocino. We had breakfast in the beautiful Craftsman-style breakfast room (built by the owner Michael Dawson) discussing food and art with the other guests in the Inn, many of whom are students at the Living Light Culinary Institute. In addition, the inn features many artists whose works include handmade paper, photography, painting, print, ceramics (the owner is a ceramic artist) and more. On your walk trough the inn and the exquisite garden you will find many interesting art pieces that are among the finest anywhere. I saw beautiful woodcuts by Donna Fenstermaker, an artist from Oakland, the finest hand blown glass by glass artist Eric Eiserling, and photographs by the late Hugo Steccati, one of the most important architectural photographers to document modern Bay Area history. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the most interesting place to stay in Fort Bragg. Once a hospital, the building has been completely renovated. The rooms are large, most with full baths, large comfortable beds, very nice sheets, towels and amenities, and beautiful art. The owner Mike is a potter, so pottery lines the building halls along with wonderful patchwork quilts on most walls. Like many buildings in this area, redwood paneling also lines the walls. The inn boasts two large kitchens, completely outfitted should you like to cook, an incredible vegetable garden,a large breakfast room with fireplace and a very friendly cat named Sweet Pea. Living Light students - this is absolutely the place to stay. The kitchen has Vitamixer, dehydrator, Cuisinart, etc for all of your desires..and a stove just in case! Ask Mike for special rates. I will return.

Room Tip: Mike will show you every room available. They are all good. Fort Bragg is very quiet, so noise is not an issue.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradleytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This B&B should be called the Beached Whale. Adjectives to describe our room are depressing, decay, decrepit, basically a dump. No romantic atmosphere for our 6th year anniversary. The medicinal smell gave me a whooping headache but it could have been the mold growing on the window panes, the worn carpet, or the pre-fab plastic shower. No place to hang clothes as the armoire was stuck shut, and the only amenities in the room was a bar of soap. Our view was of telephone poles and beat up neighboring houses. The tv was a tiny relic from the seventies. The landscape outside was neglected, even the sign. The innkeeper was angry, prejudicial and insulting when we expressed our displeasure with our room. And yet the place was empty so why didn't he have a clue??? We decided to end our stay rather than endure another night. What a rip off. We've stayed in many other B&Bs in Mendocino and around the world, and we've never been treated so badly and had so little enjoyment from a vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews