We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A railroad lovers stop over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Deli & Desserts

Laurel Deli & Desserts
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A railroad lovers stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Laurel Deli & Desserts is located in a Railroad Museum right across the street from the Skunk Railroad Ticket Office and Platform. Be prepared for surprise if you order the salad. Their salads arrive in a 14" salad bowl. Those things are big enough to feed a family of four.
I had the soup bowl and small salad combination. The Clam Chowder is about the best I have eaten anywhere. It is filled with clams, not just a sprinkle. There are hearty chunks of potato and bacon in this creamy sauce that seems to flow into your stomach as it excites every taste bud in your mouth. Now for the small salad, that came on a regular sized dinner plate.
My wife had a cheese burger and fries and had to struggle to finish the burger and could no complete the fries.
This is a place to go for lunch. On a scale of one to 10, the food here is an easy 12.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron0944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have eaten here many times and haven't been disappointed. The plates are huge so bring your appetite! Nice selection of omelettes and other breakfast items. The price is reasonable for the great quality.
We eat breakfast here a lot when we're in Ft. Bragg.
Oh, and there's a real locomotive INSIDE the building...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tvierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chowder & Fish/Chip Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a great time at Laurel's. The bread bowl chowder was very good, and the fish and chips were very good also. Our waitress was very personable, attentive and even took our picture with the train in the background to send to our grandson!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JillN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a good place to stop and have a bite to eat. It's very convenient if you're doing shopping downtown or are catching a ride on the Skunk Train.

The only downside I can think of is I think the guy running it is a Dodgers fan ;)

The food and service is good. The food is fairly priced. It's a solid restaurant calling itself a deli which would do well in any town. The fish & chips and clam chowder are good, so are several of the deli sandwiches... even if you order the wrong one as my brother-in-law did by mistake ;)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank great49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt Co.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real food that's really good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The bacon is extra thick and delicious, the ham is a large slice that covers the eggs and potatoes. Breakfast was wonderful and lunch was even better. The London Broiler is amazing! They have a hugh selection of coffee drinks. The pies looked sooooooo good, but I just didn't have room to try one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieHumboldtCo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel Deli & Desserts also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Laurel Deli & Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing