We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at Surf Motel & Gardens July 29 and 30, 2007. We had a very good experience here. We had booked the room about 1 month ahead of time. Our experience was very positive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuskerVolleyballFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 758 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

It was a little after 10 pm when we arrived in Ft Bragg...after blinking and passing through Mendocino. We were tired and the first hotel we came to was the Surf Motel and Gardens...not sure where 'Gardens' came from. The office was closing but we made it in time. The man at the desk was very nice and courteous. He gave us some ideas were to eat and have a cocktail....which at 10 pm there are few and far between places. At $94, the price was a bit steep for what we got. It was clean but a bit run down. It's tempting to stop at the first place when getting into town. You might want to driver further in. It's a sleepy little coastal town with not much going on.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank luv2travel_socal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Both the facility and the service were awful. Rude, dirty and unsafe. One of the worst motel experiences we've ever had. The staff simply doesn't care about the guests. Complaints fall on deaf ears. My wife works in the hotel industry and says she's never seen anything this bad. Do yourselves a favor, stay anywhere else in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jeffinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I called to make reservations at this motel for two nights and was quoted a price of $85 with my AAA card. I decided to take to my wife first, and said I would call back. When I called back, I was told by another person that it would be $94 with AAA for the same two nights and still a king size bed. I was upset, as you can imagine and decided not to book at that particular time.
We went to fort bragg as planned, but decided not too book anywere until we could see rooms in person.
Now, when we got the Fort Bragg, we decided to look at a room at this establishement. I was then told that the king room that was left had an "oceanview" and Would be $10 more per night with my discount! the distant oceanview was blocked by a mini golf place across the street. traffic noise was really loud. the room smelled of smoke. I do not klnow how this motel is, because we chose to leave. we went to the holiday inn around the corner where for the same price it was quiet, rooms were nice and clean, and there was a full breakfast, pool and hot tub. I will be writing a review for them with high ratings.
be sure that you are given one price. I don't know if they are trying to rip people off or what, but I do know that it seems very dishonest to change prices on a person. perhaps they were unaware that had called twice beofre. not a customer

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank misosoup25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We drove up the coast from San Francisco on Hwy 1. We didn't realize that the drive would take us longer than we anticipated, but it looked like we were going to be very late getting to our hotel. We called ahead and the staff reassured us that we would be fine and the room would be held for us. We arrived after 9pm and the staff directed us to a pizza shop within walking distance for dinner. If you are hungry when you arrive, this shop is highly recommend , just ask the staff. This hotel is right across the street from the ocean with beautiful cliffside views. The room was super clean and quiet and the staff was great. We would stay again. They even have towels and window washing spray for your car windows. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank diehlsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Stefanosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Heinz Juergen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $69 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing