We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, Comfy, and Honest!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel and Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfy, and Honest!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed here three times and keep coming back because it is a wonderful value, comfortable bed, clean room, lovely grounds, nice little breakfast, and very nice people!! Our recent visit, July 2014, sent us over the top for them and we will never stay anywhere else in Fort Bragg! We live in Sacramento County and are used to a fan or some type of moving air on during the night. As the rooms are not air-conditioned, I was having trouble sleeping so called the desk - they brought me a fan at 11:00 p.m.! I had it in the room the entire visit! However, the GREATEST moments were on the day we left. We were half way home when I realized I did not have my wedding ring on. I panicked, as I could not remember if I had left it at the motel, or where we had stopped to eat! I called the motel to see if by any chance they had seen it. Karen asked me to hold for minute – it seemed like an eternity - then came back on moments later saying YES, the girls found the ring and had just brought to the office!!! It is a diamond band, worth about $2000. They put it in the mail and I got it back the following week. I work in Sacramento politics so I'm pretty jaded about people any more - but this act of honesty and trust has renewed my faith!! Thank you is not enough to convey my deep feelings but, if you are looking for a nice place to rest your head - PLEASE try this lovely spot while you enjoy the sun, sand, and surf of Fort Bragg, CA!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing south get the ocean breeze the best at night, as you may want to leave your windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmotelandgardens, desk at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are astonished to know your stay with us was fabulous and comfortable in every aspect.We thank you and hope to see you back soon in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    198
    65
    32
    13
See reviews for
188
293
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a great hotel. Everything was very clean and the grounds were beautiful! We enjoyed walking through the gardens. They have great outdoor areas to eat and BBQ. The staff and owners were so helpful and friendly. Great place to stay and experience Fort Bragg!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We do a lot of abalone and scuba diving up the northern california coast. We stayed at this place by luck when we decided to stay an extra night in Fort Bragg. The gardens and amount of flowers are beautiful. Very clean rooms, centraly located, they cater to divers having a cleaning station, place to clean your equipment and hangers all up and dowh the hallways where you can hang your equipment to dry. Very helpful and acomodating stuff and they even have their own bus that takes you to the Skunk Train. Give it a try you'll like it. Happy diving.

Room Tip: If you have a big family they have rooms with 2 bedrooms, full kitchen,sleep a bunch very reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buch20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

first time staying here and we didn't know what to expect.
drove onto property and struck by the fauna and flora of well manicured gardens.
room 145 boasted a microwave, a fridge, a shower with a seat, good water and water pressure, everything was clean and well maintained, the tv very nice and as a special treat the lights had dimmer switches.
reddy the manager was very kind / considerate and the room price was very reasonable
breakfast, though continental, was adequate. i'd give it five stars except for the styrofoam coffee cups. otherwise splendid. my wife and i will return.

Room Tip: corner room 145 was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShineOn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The garden was very pretty. Staff was very helpful. The room was average size but very clean and neat. The bed was comfortable. It was nice we got parking right outside of our room. There where places to eat and places to shop close by. The price is fair compared to the other prices in the area for what you get. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff was very nice and helpful. The grounds are just beautiful we loved all the different plants and flowers. The rooms are clean. Out of all the hotels in fort bragg this was far the best. We will always stay here when we visit again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esparto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We go every year with about 35 people and take the south side (every Room) Reddy and Sara are the best host that we have had at any motel they will be missed because of the sale but will not stop us from staying at the beautiful garden motel

Room Tip: all room that We have stayed in have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denee B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing