We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rose among the thorns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

we decided to stay over in Fort Bragg & had no reservation. SM&G was conveniently located. our host was beyond accommodating. our room was so clean without that bleach smell. the gardens were an added bonus. at the visitor center, they knew our host by name & several visitors took the Surf Motel & Gardens number. looking forward to visiting again this fall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 758 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

On my way to Eureka I decided to check out Fort Bragg it was beautiful after spending time at glass beach decided to stay here it was almost sold out for the weekend bit was able to get a room here management was nice and suggested to visit the botanical gardens we visited there on Sunday on our way back very nice and clean room my stay was comfortable here and sure we will visit again will stay at this motel

Room Tip: i would say any room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel is very nice and staff very friendly and helpfull, rooms are very clean, garden is well maintained and looks very nice.Shuttle service was very convenient. We will definitely stay here again when next time in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for one night in their grand suite that included one bedroom with two queen-size beds, kitchen and a living room with a TV and a dining table. Suite was very nice, clean and comfortable. Kitchen was spacious and included a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster and silverware. Couch could have been of better quality. TV was big, 40+ inches screen, with nicer channels like AMC, TBS, FX etc. Staff at reception was very friendly and welcoming, and when I requested some salt, they provided a full, unpacked jar. Bathroom had sufficient toiletries. There were a number of closets in the suite. One thing missing was iron board. Other than that, it was close to perfect for one-night stay for a family of 5 including my parents and my 2-yr old. We could have easily stayed longer if we wanted to in that suite. In addition, location is very ideal. McDonald's is right across the road for a quick and cheap breakfast. It's located in the middle of the city along Hwy 1. Our suite (#144) was in the far corner, so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Donnette Robles, Cloverdale Ca.

Rooms were immaculate and very modern. Best price in town!!!! Bed was comfy and heater was very quiet and warm. Beautiful gardens, I will stay here again.
No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days, nice motel, room was nice, great for dogs, nice dog run, beautiful gardens. We adopted a rather large dog when we were in Fort Bragg the management was incredibly nice and the size of the dog was not an issue like at most hotels. Great price for Fort Bragg, near the beach and other attractions. We will definitely be back with our pooch, she had a great time too!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at the Surf Motel many years ago, and remembered liking it. We only needed a motel for one night this time. The 1st thing I noticed was how welcoming and warm the attendant was who checked us in. Then how beautiful the garden-even though it's February. Our room was sparkling clean, and every thing it seemed we would need was here.Even a night light! Beautifully furnished, and the night's stay was so reasonably priced I couldn't believe it! It was very quiet during the night, even though the motel was close to being full! The bed had a cozy, soft pillow down topper--we slept sooooo soundly!! Thank you for a wonderful stay! We'll be back as often as we can!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mspie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $69 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing