We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Surf Motel & Gardens at the beginning of November and really enjoyed our experience. We were greeted by very friendly staff members upon arrival. Our room was clean, warm and spacious enough to accommodate 2 adults, a child and 2 dogs. In the morning we enjoyed complimentary breakfast and then took our dogs to play at the off leash area located on the territory of the motel. Overall, a great place to stay and we would certainly recommend it!
Julia and Matt Heller

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 767 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is one of the worst motels I've stayed in. We booked rather late and were placed in a outside the main court. The room smelled on cigarette smoke so we were given another room. A full and smelly garbage can was outside our room and the bushes outside of our room smelled foul. It seemed like the rooms in this outer court were rented to residents and workers. It was during the week and the road repair crew was put right near us so that at 5:00am every morning we would hear yelling, honking and big truck noise. I can't imagine how the motel got so many good reviews and that is why we chose it. Maybe there are a few nice rooms in the main court and the rest are dumps. I can't understand why the grounds would be kept so nicely and the rooms so badly. Please don't take a chance. Stay away from this motel.

Room Tip: Not at this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmotelandgardens, Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our motel. We take all complaints seriously and do our best to rectify the situation. Our maintenance team has been made aware of your complaint about the outside garbage and they are now on a daily cleaning schedule. We supply the outside garbage cans for the convenience of our guests.
I realize that commercial workers do leave early and we do ask them to be respectful of their neighbors. This is the first complaint that we have about our gardens/bushes. In closing, I do not believe any of our rooms would be considered a "dump".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I believe the price exceeded the quality of the facilities. Nice grounds but room quality was average at best. Similar to Motel 6 room. Cost $360 for 2 nights for room with 2 queen beds!!! They took advantage of youth soccer tournament weekend and charged rates based on demand for that weekend. Good or bad business???

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmotelandgardens, Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Our rates do go up on holiday and special event weekends. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After reading reviews we expected a little more for the price. The room set up was OK, but it wasn't very clean. They put a lot of time into the lovely garden, but it really wasn't that big. When we checked in a young lady wasn't very helpful or nice--maybe she was having a bad day--but in the business you need to always be pleasant. The owners (at least I think they were the owners) were very nice. We knew the breakfast would be small, but to have what tasted like "Tang" for orange juice wasn't acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was driving through and decided to stay here. Was very happy with it. Plenty of room, and nice continental breakfast. Prices were reasonable and staff very friendly. Wifi worked well Beautiful gardens on premises. They had a buss to take you around town and to the skunk railroad. Nice feature. Very easy o find and good location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jhurd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family of 3 (plus one pup) stayed here for a baby shower this last weekend and was pleased with the hotel. It's close to everything, then again everywhere in fort bragg is close to everything. Our room was about $99 a night due to the pet deposit per night. It was quiet even though our room was 3 doors down from the freeway. I love the fact that it's pet friendly and they done gouge you in price for it.
My only 2 complaints were that when we had them clean our room one day, they didn't remove my daughters bowl of cereal from the room. Why they thought we would be enjoying the soggy bowl of cereal is beyond me. The other thing is that every time we had the room clean, they failed to give us an appropriate amount of clean towels. I don't know if they expected 3 of us to use one towel, so needless to say for 3 nights we had to call the front desk and ask them to bring more towels.
Aside from those two problems we had I really enjoyed the stay we had there. I hope to book again the next time I'm in town visiting

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amanda476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We picked this place entirely due to TripAdvisor reviews. The rooms are very clean, the TV works well, the office people are friendly, but it's just not an Excellent facility. At $94, it just seems too expensive or what you get.

Room Tip: Reserve a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $69 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing