We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel and Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My family of 3 (plus one pup) stayed here for a baby shower this last weekend and was pleased with the hotel. It's close to everything, then again everywhere in fort bragg is close to everything. Our room was about $99 a night due to the pet deposit per night. It was quiet even though our room was 3 doors down from the freeway. I love the fact that it's pet friendly and they done gouge you in price for it.
My only 2 complaints were that when we had them clean our room one day, they didn't remove my daughters bowl of cereal from the room. Why they thought we would be enjoying the soggy bowl of cereal is beyond me. The other thing is that every time we had the room clean, they failed to give us an appropriate amount of clean towels. I don't know if they expected 3 of us to use one towel, so needless to say for 3 nights we had to call the front desk and ask them to bring more towels.
Aside from those two problems we had I really enjoyed the stay we had there. I hope to book again the next time I'm in town visiting

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    205
    69
    32
    13
See reviews for
192
303
50
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We picked this place entirely due to TripAdvisor reviews. The rooms are very clean, the TV works well, the office people are friendly, but it's just not an Excellent facility. At $94, it just seems too expensive or what you get.

Room Tip: Reserve a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stay here while we were driving through California. Chose this place randomly,The rooms where quite old and worn out but the beds were clean enough and the bathroom spotless. The welcome and service we received on arrival made up for all the bad points of the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Ok for a one night stay but then again this is a MOTEL.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times over that past 25 years and have always been happy with my stay. The rooms are very clean and the bed is comfortable. The continental breakfast is very good. They offer a nice selection of items to choose from. My daughter enjoyed the Raisin Bran cereal and the whole wheat toast one day for a light breakfast. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They offer a reasonable rate for their rooms. If you are expecting a 4 star property this would not be the place to stay. The Gardens are beautiful any time of the year. I hope you would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: The motel is in the process of updating all of their rooms, ask for one of the rooms that have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeTahoe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Surf Motel for one night as part of our road trip through the CA and OR coast. The gardens were pretty, the room was basic but clean, and suited our needs for an overnight stop on our way north. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was Spartan but good. A good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ragsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a night at the Surf Motel and Gardens over Labor Day weekend, based on the great reviews here. True to the reviews, the property does have very well maintained and beautiful gardens. Unfortunately, the rooms are horribly neglected. We checked into a room in the back of the motel and were absolutely appalled. Highlights of the decor consisted of moist, old, matted carpet, giant black shoeprints all over the wall next to the bed, large brown stains on the bedsheets (eww!), and a greasy, fingerprint-smeared, glass-topped scratched-up dresser. I didn't want to even sit on the bed, much less sleep in it! To make matters worse - no AC! All of the rooms are ground level, so if you are like my husband and need cool air or a breeze in order to sleep well, yet are security conscious and reluctant to leave a window right next to your bed wide open to the street, this poses a serious problem.

We are budget travelers and by no means extraordinarily picky. We have traveled the world and have stayed in many places that were questionable at best. This was the first time EVER, in the 15 years that we have been traveling together, that we decided that it was better to lose the money for the night that we had reserved than to stay in such a disgusting room. As it was a holiday weekend, and the only other available rooms in Fort Bragg were over $200/night, we decided that our best option was to drive back to San Francisco, where we were able to get a good rate at a decent and clean hotel by the airport.

I simply do not understand the fantastic-sounding reviews posted here. I have never been let down by TripAdvisor reviews in the past, and I have booked and stayed in many hotels in many cities based on the reviews here. I can only imagine that the reviews for this motel were posted by gardeners or botanists infatuated with the abundant flowers, as I can't fathom that anyone with a commonsense concept of what a decent, budget motel room ought to consist of could post ANY of the positive comments that I have read here.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxximon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmotelandgardens, Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Your review of the Surf Motel and Gardens has been read by our management team. We appreciate your views but do not agree with you. Our staff works diligently every day to make sure our rooms are clean and comfortable for our guests. We believe that we have achieved that goal by the comments we receive from our guests as they check-out and by the reviews we receive on Trip Advisor and other similiar sites.

After speaking with our front desk personnel, we discovered you never mentioned a problem in the room; you just "had to leave". If you had been more forthcoming for your reason for leaving, I am sure that we could have come to a solution. I do not understand why it was necessary to travel 4 hours to San Francisco, when there were rooms available in Fort Bragg that evening starting at $109. There are also several cities along the way that you could have stopped at.

Air conditioning is not usually needed on the Northern California coast. We do offer fans on request. I am a little confused regarding your statement 'to leave a window open right next to your bed wide open to the street' We are set off from the highway and your room was at the back of the courtyard.

We apologize for the impression that you have of the motel and wish you safe journeys on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Fort Bragg. The room was extremely clean with refrigerator and microwave. Excellent shower; the room was quiet with no highway noise. The flowers and gardens are well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing