We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome and beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome and beautiful grounds”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way through Fort Bragg. As we drove up to the motel I was impressed with the grounds. It creates a lovely first impression. The check in was very friendly and efficient. A nice welcome goes a long way. The room was basic but comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated and could do with a freshen up. The lino on the floor looked a bit dirty, as did the in-room fridge, which probably needs replaced. There was no decaf coffee in the room which was a disappointment. Breakfast was nice but very basic. There was only 1 type of bread, a small toaster, 2 types of cereal and a small selection of pastries. There were no healthy choices. The motel feels a bit too far from the centre (20 minute walk) and even farther from the beach. We drove to the glass beach as it was too far to walk. Overall it was a nice stay but it could have been better, especially for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    215
    73
    34
    13
See reviews for
197
321
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The property was beautifully landscaped and close to stores and just a short drive to the wonderful downtown Fort Brag dining and shopping. The management was super friendly and helpful. The downside was that our room was located on the "dog-friendly" side and we heard dogs barking off and on throughout the evening/early morning. We had our two young children and worried the barking would wake up the kids, not to mention it was annoying to us. Also, the room location we were placed in was on the side of the motel that had boat access parking and fish cleaning. So late at night when the fishermen got back from their trips (this happened both nights we stayed there), guys were unloading their boats/trucks right out front of our room dropping ice chests on the ground, speaking loudly among other loud noises that occurred late into the evening. Again, worrying us about waking our children and also annoying to listen to as we were headed to bed. The quilt on our bed had a big stain (looked like urine) up by the head of the bed. It didn't have an odor, but grossed me out nonetheless. Other than that, everything else seemed to be ok. I must say, I was more impressed by the friendly staff than the motel itself. We didn't eat the breakfast foods. We brought our own healthy options. Preservative-filled pastries are just not that appealing to my family (that is a pretty common breakfast option at many motels though). However, they did have some fresh fruit. We appreciated the free shuttle service to the Skunk Train too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autielee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice, clean, and comfortable stay for Labor Day weekend. The location was great for easy access to several parks and wineries. The staff was nice and provided a simple breakfast and coffee. We did not have a chance to use all of their amenities, but were happy to see all that the hotel offered

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyobrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this motel this labor weekend and really enjoyed it, the room was clean and very large with full in kitchen. The area of motel has nice gazebo, fire pits, bbq area to relax and have fun. The plus points are for the location but would recommend to put more varieties/choices for breakfast - very limited options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnS_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel more than 5 times. The front desk is always so friendly and attentive to your hotel needs as well as helpful when it comes to finding things that are available in Fort Bragg and surrounding towns.
The motel is older but we have seen upgrades every year that we have come. The management shows that they are interested in keeping things neat and clean. The gardens are equal to any botanical garden anywhere. Yearly we have also noticed changes to the gardens which are not really necessary but add so much to the overall wonderment of what is hidden in each corner.
The added features of window washing stations, a fish cleaning area, a fire pit, bocci ball run, a dog run and picnic areas with barbeques make this an ideal place to come and visit and stop for a couple of days when in the area.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet ask for a back room. Because this is an older it is one story motel , you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I called the day before Labor Day and was fortunate to get the good news from the owner that he had just received a cancellation. The room had a fridge and microwave. It was clean. There was not an air conditioner but the large windows totally open to allow the ocean breeze in. The staff were friendly and worked feverishly to keep the continental breakfast stocked in the morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Surf Motel often. The owners are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The gardens are beautiful. We will always stay there when we visit Fort Bragg. We would highly recommend this motel. We enjoy going to Fort Bragg and enjoy the Surf Motel.

Room Tip: We always get the room with the kitchen, living area and separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
300 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing