We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Motel and Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Lite Lodge(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Cliff Hotel(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
416
225
91
39
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
225
91
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog rungardens are beautifulharvest marketroom was cleangarden areacontinental breakfastfish cleaning stationdog parkskunk traingreat place to stayfire pitwould stay here againpicnic tablesfresh fruitfridge and microwavedesk clerkking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 786 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The first thing you notice is the carpet is old, dated, and stained. On closer inspection, the room hasn't had a good cleaning in a very long time. There were crackers on the carpet, so the room hadn't even been vacuumed properly. The walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING being said in the next room. We stayed two nights and both nights we were awakened several times by conversation outside the building and in the next room. On a more positive note.. the bed was very comfortable, and the gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmotelandgardens, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am dissapointed that you were unhappy with your room. Do you remember which room it was? Our rooms are known for the cleanliness. I would have been more than happy to have moved you to a different room if we had known of the problems. The housekeeping staff have been made aware of your complaint. Our quiet time is normally 10pm but unfortunetly not everyone is considerate of their neighbors. Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed the bed and gardens. If you are ever in the area we would love you to choose us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good advice from former reviewers. If you are the average traveler looking for a comfortable, clean place on the road and don't need scads of amenities, this is a great place. Friendly, helpful staff; clean rooms; gorgeous grounds, especially in Spring. They mean it when they say "...and Gardens." Gazebos to enjoy a post trip wind down glass of wine and the flowers. While we were checking in another customer stopped by to say he broke the shower head (used it to avoid a slip it sounded like) and offered to pay for it. Nope, said the manager. That's okay. Also, an unexpected treat: a box on the posts by the rooms with a spray bottle and paper towels to clean your car windows!! And the coffee is good. It may not be the Ritz, but it's a very comfortable, clean and reasonably priced place to stay. All of what I am looking for when on the road. If I ever pass through Fort Bragg again, I know exactly where I will stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RetiredTraveler649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The gardens were lovely with lots of variety. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was super clean with a very comfortable bed. We will definitely be back next time we visit Fort Bragg.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

When you work out of town and your away from home and you find a motel that has a staff that treats you like family and rooms and property that make you feel at home. Thats a GREAT place to stay!!!!!! The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. Their property is great, with barbecues and a fire pit and horseshoe pit. Their location is close to restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping. I loved staying there and cant wait to take my family there for a vacation.
Thanks
Coral

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylerodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at the Surf for a family reunion a few weeks ago. Old-fashioned family inn, clean, comfy,rooms were dated but everything was in good working order. Very basic breakfast. Staff were helpful. Grounds were beautifully landscaped. Convenient locale. Great for the price...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews