We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Beautiful Motel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Motel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Surf Motel & Gardens is the place to go.. Brand New Beds (OOOOHHH so Comfy) Fridge and Microwave, Looking forward to going there again...
In the morning you get Fresh coffee, Danish's, Cereal and Fresh Fruit. Also different kinds of Juices to pick from.
The gardens are unbelivable.. Had to get up early just to make sure I had time to take pictures before leaving this beautiful place..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    207
    71
    33
    13
See reviews for
194
305
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights on our trip to the redwoods. We got what was supposedly a suite. It was really just a room with a sink and fridge. :) The room was quiet and very well maintained. The staff was friendly.

We took the free shuttle to the Skunk Train without incident.

David's Restaurant was only a block away from the hotel and was GREAT for breakfast with the family.

Best hotel of the entire trip.

Room Tip: I would NOT worry about getting a suite. A regular room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I went to the Botanical Gardens down Highway 1 before we checked in. Had we checked in first we might not have needed to go to the Gardens. The gardens outside the motel were just incredibly beautiful. It's clear that's where the passion of the owners is. The clerks were very helpful, suggesting a dinner special at a restaurant down the road. As for the accomodations, the rooms were clean and we had a great night's sleep in the bed. The furniture was old and tatty looking (something of no real concern to me), and there was a shower and no tub in the bathroom. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the worst part of it was that there was a horrible smell in the front office where the breakfast was served that I hope was some sort of obnoxious cleaning fluid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfrankevicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Have stayed at the Surf Motel twice with 2 large dogs. The rooms are large and clean. The dog rooms are separated from those without pets. The dog run is a great benefit. Walking distance to a little shopping center with market, pizza, Rite Aid and McDonalds. On CA-1 but set back so no traffic noise. Close to the Noyo dog beach and Fusion kayaking. Took advantage of the shuttle to the Skunk train. Everyone is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oroville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose the Surf Motel and Gardens as our home base for the weekend of our wedding. We had quite a few out of town guests and management graciously held as many rooms as we needed for our friends and family. Everyone was impressed with the nice clean and spacious rooms. Many commented on the beautiful gardens. I was so pleased that they had the shuttle available to the skunk train as our wedding was on board the train. They made multiple trips to get all of us out there and back and even took a couple of people in their personal car when the shuttle was full last minute to avoid them missing the train. Overall it was a great experience and the management went above and beyond to meet our needs. This will be where we stay when we come to the coast again and will highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good place to stay. We were pedaling through, traveling via bicycle down the coast and took a day off in Fort Bragg.
The rooms were clean, large, and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was slim but sufficient.
The owners were super-friendly and outgoing. We wanted to be able to walk to town (no car, and wanted to not ride on our day out of the saddle), so this worked out well.
I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and it was just fine for the short time period. The room was clean, and the price seemed to be right for the type of motel that this is (older, no frills, but solid). They say they offer breakfast, but it's really just an assortment of pastries, so don't count on that. Nice touch of offering window cleaner and paper towels to clean your car windshield. I loved all the flowers however. The gardens are meticulous and quite lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing