We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was actually my second choice to stay in Ft. Bragg because the other location I had tried to book was full. But after my experience at the Surf Motel it will now be my first choice. Rooms very clean and the location relevant to all other things in town is prime. The only way it could of been better is if it had been right on beach and thats being picky since the beach is probably a 3 min drive away.

Room Tip: King bed rooms are only 10 bucks more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    207
    71
    33
    13
See reviews for
194
305
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been going to the Surf Motel and Gardens for years. The entire staff and owner Reddy are friendly and and always ready to assist you in any way. The rooms are constantly upgraded and always clean. The grounds rival the Botanical Gardens. It is always beautiful with benches, gazebos, Barbeque's, horseshoe pits, dog run area and a fish cleaning station that is always clean and tidy. The location is a short walk to grocery shopping or a nice walk to Todd Point park for the most beautiful sunsets ever. The place is diver friendly with a wetsuit shower and hooks outside every room to hang your gear for drying. The continental breakfast is convenient for a pastry, fruit or a bowl of cereal and juice and great coffee. We plan several trips to the coast and we keep returning to the Surf Motel and Gardens.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sunset ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was a very clean property inside and out. You could tell that the owners take pride in their property. Although a typical roadside motel, it was quiet and conveniently located on the main street for restaurants and shopping. The flowers were beautiful in their garden which was also well maintained. No early breakfast served here but not uncommon for this type of motel. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Quiet , warm hospitality, easy access to everything, very clean and accommodating is how I can describe this place. You can tell that it's maintained with lots of tender love and care from the owners to the staff. A must stay for our next coastal trip : )

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaArcenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a MUST STAY place if you are close to Fort Bragg. Stay away from the sterile chain motels and enjoy clean updated rooms with fantastic grounds. The Surf Motel grounds are better than most formal gardens. Pets are welcome and they have a fenced dog area with lush grass. I also love the one story buildings with no one banging around above your room. Great service and overall value. We will be back.

Stan H

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff.
We were there for the Easter weekend and stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean with everything in working order. There was a mini refrigerator and a microwave which was very helpful for us vegetarians in a coastal place!
The Breakfast was well stocked till the end time and the coffee is great!
The location is excellent too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajsunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazadero
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were enticed by the exquisite landscape and were sold by the genuineness and sincerity of the managers. Our stay was more then we had hope for. The room offered a new flat screen TV and was clean and comfortable. We recommend the Surf Motel and are returning again next week.

Room Tip: We stayed in the center of the horse-shoe and found it to be quite and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing