We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to say with groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had a total of 12 rooms including one with a suite and a full kitchen. The Staff couldn't do enough for all of us. There is a full firepit, outside BBQ's with large picnic tables, horseshoes, and a great area to clean your fish and Abalone. They also have dog friendly rooms. The flower gardens alone are worth the trip. The Motel had all the best of camping and then we could take bubble baths and you can't beat the comfortable beds!! We are looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda32233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 771 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed for three nights and will stay there again. Was not sure about staying in a non franchised motel. However this place was great. Very clean. The mattress even looked new. The grounds were well kept with a professional kept garden. They had fish cleaning area as well as a BBQ area with tables and benches to cook your fish. You parked right outside your room for easy loading and unloading. There were windshield cleaning stations with cleaner and paper towels station about the parking lot. My minor complaints would be that they did not serve real orange juice at breakfast. The shower knob should be taken off and bleached, And that the refrigerator should be placed further away from the bed as it had a hum.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdrich56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We rolled into town with no reservations and passed by many near empty hotel and motel parking lots before coming across this one. The parking lot was quite full and the grounds had exceptional flower gardens and landscaping. My first thought was if the owner put that kind of work into the grounds the room had to be decent and clean. It was and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Nice place in Ft. Bragg, walking distance to Harvest Market and Pizza Factory. Super clean and very nice grounds with pet area and clean-up area for catch of the day! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The gardens at this motel are absolutely beautiful. They have BBQ areas, horseshoe pits, a fish cleaning station, outdoor shower, an outdoor firepit area - and - a nice leash free dog run area. The rooms are clean and have a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee pot and hair dryer. We've stayed at this motel twice now with our 2 basset hounds and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Fabulous motel. My husband and I have been travelling the US for 7 weeks and have stayed in more than 20 hotels and motels, this is by far the best we have stayed in. Its spotlessly clean, spacious, the surrounding gardens are gorgeous and well kept. Great location. Close to many restaurants and a great Supermarket. Wifi was really good also.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Whenever I stay here the staff are very help full and friendly. The rooms are very clean and nice. The garden is wonderful and the shuttle service was a great. Will always stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
322 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $72 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and clean rooms with , in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, barbeque pits, pet friendly rooms, and enclosed pet area. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing