We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, clean...great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, clean...great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We pulled into Fort Bragg pretty late and this is one of the first places you come upon fro the south. The family running the place have done a great job. Not a new place but they have spruced it up. It was very clean and nice little garden area in the middle. Would easily stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    207
    71
    33
    13
See reviews for
194
305
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I love the managers and the place is clean and comfortable and quiet. It has a dog run for animals and the grounds are well maintained and landscaped it is a wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend this to anyone. You will be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: they are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmndevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights/ 4 days here and i have to say that this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in. I travel on business atleast 3 to 4 days per week, and mostly stay at the Hyatts, Hiltons, and the Sheratons; this has to be one of the best finds on the coast. I am a clean freak and i found that this hotel was much cleaner than the main brands.

I also enjoyed the close proximity to a grocery story, pizza restaurant, and a breakfast cafe. When i say close, i mean that it is behind the hotel and around the corner. The good thing is that the hotel's location is on a seperate block with no through traffic surround by a lush garden. I was speaking with the owner and asked him about how he mantains such a nice garden. The owners are very friendly. They seem to answer the same questions each day but would never know it by their hospitality. They recommended a nice kayak place that my son and wife enjoyed greatly.

This was one of our best vacations and cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aali555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great value. The management actually cares about their guests and makes a real effort to make them comfortable. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and bright. Wifi and mobile phone coverage, a big improvement over some other options! A very nice property, great landscaping, less than a mile walk to the ocean, and right next to the best market in town. This is the best value I am aware of in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oweng824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

What a great place to stay with your dog. The rooms were very clean, the property was beautiful (gorgeous gardens) and there was an excellent off-leash, fenced dog park where I can take my Westie. They also supplied the poop bags for clean up. The Surf Motel and Gardens is a great and affordable alternative to the expensive Mendocino accommodations. I expected traffic noise from Hwy 1, but wasn't bothered in the least. The staff was helpful and friendly, too. I'm recommending this place for all of my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side, close to the dog park for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie-Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

While an older motel it has a superb location, its quiet, clean and has the most beautiful gardens. priced right and just our kind of place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a great place to stay. It is very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly. The gardens are absolutely beautiful. We've been going back there over the last 10 years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy12308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing