We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B”
Review of The Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atrium
Ranked #6 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great B&B”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife and i stayed a The Atrium one night on our way down the coast to San Francisco.

Mary, a very gracious host, welcomed us when we checked in and invited us to join her for a glass of wine before we toured Fort Bragg. The room was wonderful and the breakfast was excellent.

Mary's restaurant recommendation for dinner was perfect. Silvers at the Wharf had excellent, fresh seafood.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerrySpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Atrium is a charming B&B, ideally located near restaurants, shops, and Glass Beach. The rooms all have an individual twist, with coordinated decor giving each its own feel and ambience. We stayed in the Garden Room, which was spacious, comfortable and cosy. The owner was extremely welcoming, friendly and chatty, and we were spoilt (as are all guests) with a glass of wine on arrival and a delicious home-cooked breakfast in the morning. Considering the quality of the rooms and service as well as its location, The Atrium represents great value-for-money. We had a great stay and were just sorry that we only had one night booked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Atrium is a really pleasant B&B, pretty and comfortable but not over the top like a few places I've stayed. We enjoyed our stay in the Fort Bragg area, the Atrium made a good base and at night it was only a short walk to a variety of restaurants. What really made our stay was the warmth of the welcome (friendly and helpful but not obtrusive) and the excellent breakfast (and afternoon cookies).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuba city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

After researching what seemed to be hundreds of hotels/motels and bed and breakfasts I decided to reserve two rooms at the Atrium. The Atrium was altogether what I was looking for; a calm, clean, friendly, peaceful inn. Gail and Mary are wonderful as is there friendly dog Gracie, neither is overbearing nor brash . You see them for breakfast and if you would like you can see them again around 5-6pm in the parlor during social hour where they enjoy having conversation with the guests and offer you wine, there is also access to the atrium/garden area all day and night. It is a very well kept area full of greenery and flowers also with plenty of tables and chairs to relax in, (and kitty spends most of her time in there) and it is surprisingly warm in there. The rooms that we stayed in were the Interlude and the Lodge. Both rooms are precisely what we wanted they are clean, spacious and comfortable. My boyfriend and I slept like babies in our luscious king size bed, as did my parents in theirs. They gave us plenty of blankets and a heavy down-like comforter that once you wrapped yourself in it, you did not want to get out of it. The rooms had fire-places and extra seating, I didn’t even want to leave the rooms. The breakfasts are delicious, so good that we helped ourselves to seconds, if you do make sure that everyone staying at the inn has eaten first J. The food is plenty and the variety is refreshing, they always have a side of fresh fruit, and fresh orange juice, you will love there baked pear with yogurt. If you have questions about anything in Fort Bragg definitely talk to the ladies they know of some sweet beach spots and good cuisine around town. I also took advantage of their concierge services at no additional charge. I simply told them what I wanted to do on what days and the tickets and reservations were taken care of. In the evening prior to sleeping they would give us a reminder of the next days activity. They would also re-confirm with us during breakfast always making sure that we ate and headed out at the correct time. They had Skunk Train, and Botanical Garden tickets ready for us, and whale watching reservations. This was the first time my family and I had been to Fort Bragg, staying at the Atrium made the first time experience there first-class. I will indubitably stay at the Atrium Bed & Breakfast again!! It was like I was home away from home, the whole entire time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admira530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Four of us checked into the Atrium on March 1st. First we were greeted by the wonderful owner and then her fabulous dog, Gracie. Miss Kitty lounged in the Atrium which is a beautiful serene area with lush plants and comfortable seating. It really felt like we had been invited to our aunt’s house and her soul goal was to feed us wonderful food, make sure our rooms were warm, comfortable and inviting and sit and visit with us whenever we felt like it. The pictures don’t do the rooms justice. They are luxurious, beautifully decorated (by the owners not a decorator!!) and extremely comfortable. Our bed in the Interlude was soooo yummy and our shower was huge! Flip a switch and you have an instant fire place to make the room even cozier. The place was unbelievably clean! It felt as if no one had ever stayed there before us! The breakfasts were fabulous and plentiful and the afternoon wine was made even more relaxing by our visits with Gail, one of the owners. She has a wealth of information about the area and it felt as if we had known her forever. Little dishes of candy are around for the taking and sitting in the parlor felt so homey that at the risk of repeating myself, it was as if we were staying with our rich aunt! On top of all of this I spent several days researching all the B&B’s in the area before settling on the Atrium and this is by far the nicest and best value in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotheEmeraldCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed in the Lodge Room for two nights. The Atrium is a very homey and friendly place to stay in Fort Bragg. The room itself was very large, one of the largest in the inn. If you are bothered by some traffic noise then I would recommend that you ask for one of the other rooms which are off Main Street. We were not bothered at all by the occassional passing car.

The two innkeepers are both very friendly and informative on local attractions. When we had wine in the early evening in the sitting room we chatted with both for quite a while. The dog, Gracie, as mentioned in other reviews is a friendly animal. She destroyed a tennis ball in a matter of minutes probably because she didn't get enough attention.

I would recommend a walk over to Cowlick Ice Cream for their famous mushroom ice cream. I know it sounds bad but the candy cap mushroom is used which I think gives it a slight butterscotch taste.

The breakfasts were very good and substancial. The first morning we had a mushroom and cheese omelet. The second day we were served a very good quiche along with a cold baked pear which was delicious.


If we are every back in Fort Bragg this is be our base of operations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melly
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I am actually writing this from our room as we speak. I planned this trip for my husband's birthday and was so happy to find a birthday sign in our room for my husband and a little chocolate cake in the dining room for him too. We love the prices. The room is cute and clean. The innkeepers are warm and inviting, along with the enchanting black cat. Come and visit the Atrium, you'll be happy that you did.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium

Property: The Atrium
Address: 700 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atrium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ruggedly beautiful Mendocino Coast is a destination you will never forget: 70 miles of rivers, state parks, redwood trees, waterfalls, and beaches offering everything from birding to whale watching and photography to romantic picnics. In the heart of it all, is our Atrium Bed and Breakfast, a Victorian inn located in the historic, seaside town of Fort Bragg. We have ten beautiful rooms, each furnished in a different theme. Some of our rooms have a fireplace, others feature basked-weaved furniture, a rustic lodge atmosphere, and much more. Our flower-filled atrium garden is our speciality and the perfect place to relax - even in winter time! If you have any questions on how to plan your stay, innkeeper Mary can help you make the most of it - whether it's your first trip to Fort Bragg or just your latest adventure here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your The Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing