We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and welcoming.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atrium
Ranked #6 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Garden Room which has a private shower room over the corridor. Very comfortable bed, and a little seating area. Lots of breakfast! The owner is extremely warm and welcoming, making you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Fort Bragg itself is a very convenient town for visiting the pacific coastline, try the Russian Gulch Park, Mendocino Botanical Gardens and Mendocino coastline generally, all lovely, several places to eat in easy walking distance, try Barbelow with the Mendo Bistro upstairs, and North Coast Brewing Tap Room, both had good beer and food.

Room Tip: We were able to see a few other rooms, all of them looked lovely, Garden Room is spacious and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalamityJaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location
The B&B is located directly at Highway-1 in the heart of Fort Bragg. There is ample of street parking available.

First impression
The house has a beautiful garden which was ablaze with flowers and a nice winter garden which connects the two buildings.

Room
We stayed one night in the Buttercup room, their smallest room. It was not as tiny as it looked on the pictures on their website but rather cute. We had enough space to store our luggage. The room is upstairs so you have to carry your trunks up one set of stairs. The room and bathroom were nicely decorated in light yellow. Everything was clean.
There were practically no seats in the room but the bed itself and no table.
We didn’t manage to convince the shower to produce constantly warm water (but as TalentCuki wrote the same on June 13th, it was probably not due to our clumsiness).

Sleep quality
We slept very bad. This was on the one hand due to the very soft mattress. On the other hand we heard trucks and other loud vehicles very, very early in the morning (I guess it was e.g. a garbage collection truck which peeps constantly while driving backwards.)

Breakfast
Breakfast time was 8:30 which is a bit late if you have a lot of other plans for the day. The food was quite good. There are only small tables for 2 persons, no big table for everyone. This doesn’t encourage contact between the guests (which in my opinion make the stay in a B&B so special).

Rating
Okay, we probably didn’t had the best start because we were 1h too late for check-in. Our mobile phones didn’t work so we couldn’t notify them that we would be a bit later.
And maybe I am too spoiled from the wonderful, familiar B&Bs we stayed in last year in Canada and their abundance of food and fun at breakfast time. But if I compare this B&B with what we experienced there… I cannot rate Atrium higher than 3. Everything felt a bit too much business-like, not like the genuine hospitality in Canada.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpintera, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I wanted to try out this B&B so my sister-in-law and I shared a Queen size bed but we sure weren't disappointed. We slept like angels. Since The Atrium is located downtown, on Saturday night there was a bit of noise outside but nothing to keep us awake long. We were in the Woodlands room in the main house, on the second floor. It's a charming old Victorian place so realize you have narrow stairs to maneuver your luggage. Gail was our hostess doe 2 nights and she prepared tasty and filling breakfasts both mornings. A very relaxing pleasant environment. Their dog Gracie is a fixture so you better be comfortable with a dog in the dining room. She isn't a pest though she will try to beg. Gail gives strict orders "no feeding from the table" but Gracie obviously lives on hope!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We received a gracious welcome. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The decor was tasteful. Breakfast was delicious and got us off to a good start.

Room Tip: Interlude room had good natural light and was reasonably spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast that I would highly recommend. We stayed in the garden room and it was lovely. The other rooms that we could see were also beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and of a very high quality. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njg8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

THIS PLACE DISCRIMINATES AGAINST THE DISABLED!!!! My husband is disabled and requires a service animal. We have a second dog who is a therapy dog for the Senior Center (the reason for our visit to Ft Bragg). I called http://Hotel.com to book a disability room, and the nice lady at http://Hotel.com called the proprietor at the Atrium, who was very upset with the http://Hotel.com agent for asking about 2 dogs per room. Apparently the Atrium no longer allows dogs or disabled people because they are "TOO MUCH TROUBLE". We have also filed with the American Disability Association and ask that people boycott this establishment until this issue is resolved!!!

Room Tip: Boycott this hotel if you support the challenges of the disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yummers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Atrium for a wedding in Fort Bragg. The hosts were so helpful recommending places to eat, providing us an iron for our wrinkled wedding clothes and providing a hair dryer. The room was plenty spacious and cozy and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Fort Bragg. We loved the wonderful atrium garden and its glorious fragrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weller House Inn
Weller House Inn
#1 of 13 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium

Property: The Atrium
Address: 700 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atrium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ruggedly beautiful Mendocino Coast is a destination you will never forget: 70 miles of rivers, state parks, redwood trees, waterfalls, and beaches offering everything from birding to whale watching and photography to romantic picnics. In the heart of it all, is our Atrium Bed and Breakfast, a Victorian inn located in the historic, seaside town of Fort Bragg. We have ten beautiful rooms, each furnished in a different theme. Some of our rooms have a fireplace, others feature basked-weaved furniture, a rustic lodge atmosphere, and much more. Our flower-filled atrium garden is our speciality and the perfect place to relax - even in winter time! If you have any questions on how to plan your stay, innkeeper Mary can help you make the most of it - whether it's your first trip to Fort Bragg or just your latest adventure here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing