We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel for the Budget Minded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Motel for the Budget Minded”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Let's get this out of the way: This place is not the Fort Bragg Ritz. What it is is a good (not great) for the price motel that is walking distance to the ocean and the downtown area. The place is somewhat kitsch in decor and thrown together in some areas (*the rooms could use an upgrade, but it's nothing that's a serious deal-breaker). Had most amenities: fridge, wifi, cable. Beds are ok (not great) but managed to sleep w/hardly no noise. Staff managed problems relatively quickly - however, they do come across as kind of terse (borderline grumpy). Also, don't expect much for the continental breakfast (unless you like Hostess mini-donuts and weak instant coffee). Basically, if you're not going to spend alot of time at the room - then this is ideal for using as a base.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdawg5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Oceanside Inn Fort Bragg.

We appreciate your review and honest observations which will definitely help us to improve.

We are thankful for putting the good things as well as the improvement points straight.

We have taken actions to improve on all the areas mentioned as per the review.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and we will definitely give you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    28
    29
    42
See reviews for
29
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We travel a lot, and we don't have an extravagant amount of money so we usually stay at the smaller Chains. When I walked into the room (above the office) it took my breath away... It was strangely shaped and decorated beautifully. I loved it so much that i immediately went back down stairs and paid for another night so that we wouldn't lose it to someone else.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms, but loved mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Oceanside Inn & Suites and I will stay there when ever I go to Fort Bragg. The staff make you feel like family, they are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and the ocean is only two blocks away!!! Incredible!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room for two people, they are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpgazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My review has also been deleted, so here I am reposting.

The only good thing about the hotel was the location.

To start with, the front desk clerk was rude and short with guests, despite charging over $140 for a cheap motel room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and there was an intermittent loud buzzing noise that went off throughout the night and morning. Guests next door were loud and the walls so paper thin that you could hear a baby crying. Continental breakfast was a joke--there wasn't even any coffee left, and it was just Costco packaged pastries. I wouldn't stay here again for half the price.

After posting a review through the site where I booked this hotel, the owner did contact me but would not refund any money. He simply offered half-off for my next visit, which will never happen. I was hoping that he might have acknowledged some of the issues and mentioned his intention to make things better, however, I got the feeling that things will stay exactly as they were and ultimately, the owner was unconcerned about anything other than charging exorbitant rates.

There is a good reason why this hotel is rated almost dead last. Trust the large amount of negative reviews and skip this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Oceanside Inn and the review.

Please note that we have investigated the issue already and the needful has been done.

We understand our guests and what they look for.

Effective actions have been taken on each area to improve- particularly the hospitality and the refund issue.

Please visit us again and check our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Running Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed here twice. The first time we had a ground level room in the back and it was old but quite adequate for the price. Very clean and had a friendly staff.

The next time was quite different, we went with some friends and they may not trust me again. The lobby reeked of Curry. The rooms we had this time were second story, facing the parking lot. and very strange. Funny little chairs you could not sit on. Much more run-down that our first visit.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground, avoid rooms above the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Oceanside Inn for your stay.

We appreciate your review and take your observations for improvement.

Steps have been taken in every area of hospitality and the hotel upkeep has improved a lot.

Please visit us so that you can have a nice stay as you had experienced during the first time.

We welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

this hotel is dirty overpriced and should be avoided if there is no other place to stay in town sleep in your car

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo7120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Oceanside Inn and the review.

We would appreciate if your review could have been more specific apart from the price issue because we take guest reviews seriously towards improvement.

We have made improvement in every area of the managing the inn.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is the first review I have ever felt compelled to write. While the on-site manager was friendly and appeared to be doing all one person could alone, this property seems understaffed and in need of basic upgrades.

I stayed two nights. I purchased a room via the Inn's [think motel's] own internet deal. Good thing I brought a print-out of the online transaction. On arrival, a double billing error was the first issue to be sorted out.

When I walked into the room, I found out-dated furniture and drapery. There was also a bizarre cow motif. Then I got to chase away a few flies. Oh well, I am a good sport... The room was cheap and the bathroom was clean, so I chalked this up to budget travel.

On night two, I arrived back at the room and saw that the room was inundated with flies. I discovered that something from the drapes had drawn the flies inside. I, along with one of the friend's I was traveling with, complained. The on-site manager gave me a second room. I asked her to walk me back the first room to retrieve a personal item. When she saw for herself, she apologized for the circumstance.

The second room was quieter. Unfortunately, in the morning I discovered a poorly cleaned shower. [After check-out, my friends and I saw that all the room doors are swung open to the outdoors while the rooms are being cleaned].

I hate to write this review. The on-site manager was nice. The friends I traveled with had no problems with their room, outside of the decor.

Still, other travelers should be forewarned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement.

We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

Glad to note that you liked the hospitality of the manager and we have conveyed about this.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#9 of 23 in Fort Bragg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Property: Oceanside Inn & Suites
Address: 820 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3019
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you dream about staying by the Ocean, why not stay in a room worth dreaming about? Come join us in Fort Bragg on the Mendocino coast for business or pleasure. You will find that we have all the amenities that you and/or your family will need. Come and experience the personal service and convenience of Oceanside Inn & Suites. Oceanside Inn & Suites offers our guests clean, comfortable rooms and amenities often associated with more expensive hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing