We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SMELLY FLEABAG rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SMELLY FLEABAG rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Dont stay and dont get caught in town on the weekend or you might have to stay here.WORST place we have ever stayed.!!!!!

Room Tip: Smelled so bad they had to respray it.Dont stay!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinn820, Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear J M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at our property. Yes, you are right Mr. J M that you came in town on weekend and we had that last smoking room available. Prior to your check in we informed you that we have only one room left and it is smoking room and we also offer you that if you want we can spray air freshener to eliminate some smoke odor and you agreed and rent that smoking room. After check in you came to the office and asked us to spray some air freshener which we did to make your stay comfortable. Please make your reservation in advance for non smoking room and we would be honored to host you whenever you visit our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    27
    29
    41
See reviews for
28
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banning, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The front desk people were very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast and snack in the afternoon. Reasonably priced and we would stay there again. Microwave and refrigerator. Slept well. Near Botanical Gardens, Beautiful old homes and the glass beach is a fun place to go. Also the Guest Museum.
Enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCKNGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinn820, Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Greetings RCKNGMA from the Oceanside Inn & Suites in Fort Bragg. We appreciate so very much for taking the time to reflect on your recent visit to our property. We appreciate you highlighting our great location as well as your great experience with our Front Desk Staff. Our staff works consistently to raise the bar on guest service and we are delighted that we exceeded your expectation. We are always delighted when we exceed our guests’ expectations. Many thanks again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We miscalculated our time and didn't make it our desitnation (Samuel P. Taylor State Park) before night fall. We were on motorcycles - looking for an inexpensive clean room. We paid $64.99 and should have been $6.99....the pillows were stained, the walls and carpets were stained, mold in bathroom...I finally just had to close my eyes and turn out the lights. We would have been better off to bring our tents in and set it up the floor......I wish I would have thought of that the night we stayed, but we were really tired. Our friends couldn't get hot water for over an hour....Learned my lesson; next time I rent a room from non-major hotel....I will ask to to see the room before I pay anything. This hotel is a minus zero rating.....it was old and dirty. I still can't believe I stayed the night there. Our friends walked to find another hotel....willing to pay another hotel fee just to get out of that place.

Room Tip: Best tip I have about this place.....don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Oceanside Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

We apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.

We have engaged a professional team to check all the points mentioned in the review and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a new guest is checked in.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and request you to stay with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Perfect spot to stop on your drive up the NorCal coast. The location is ideal to get to wine country nearby & the cute little town of Mendocino.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieme76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Arrived May 29, stayed for 4 nights. The rooms are older, but clean. That is the only good thing. During our four night stay, the room was only cleaned one time. We had to ask for towels each day. One tiny trash can which was overflowing on to the floor in the corner. Front desk said they were "busy" and couldn't clean room. Funny thing, the first two days there were only 6 cars in the entire 150+ room hotel. Later during our stay, about 20 rooms were rented. Front desk is extreemly hard to understand. Don't speak English very clearly. Pillows are huge, foam rubber. Bed extreemly hard. Won't go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseWRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Oceanside Inn.

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and also thank you for finding the cleanliness matched your expectations.

We are addressing your observations related to the room features and the front desk hospitality and effective communication from them.

We assure you a very nice stay next time and wait to welcome you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Unfriendly reception. People of very few words. Almost felt unwelcome, suspect linen had been used previously. Breakfast at the lower e nd of the scale

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meandered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay with Oceanside Inn and your review.

We appreciate your review and observations.

We have given special training to the hotel staff for improvement of guest relations.

We have done a thorough inspection and corrective steps to every point of your observation including the breakfast and coffee.

We take the reviews quite seriously and would like to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

This motel has the more eclectic decoration I´ve seen in years. I asked for a quiet room as it is close to the main street. He gave me the "more quiet" room which was actually pretty noisy. The bathroom window didn´t fit very well in the frame so cold and noise were our companions.
The service was correct though the receptionist had a long face.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with Oceanside Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience you had howsoever.

We have addressed all your observation points and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

Glad to note that you liked the hospitality of our staff.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Property: Oceanside Inn & Suites
Address: 820 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3019
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you dream about staying by the Ocean, why not stay in a room worth dreaming about? Come join us in Fort Bragg on the Mendocino coast for business or pleasure. You will find that we have all the amenities that you and/or your family will need. Come and experience the personal service and convenience of Oceanside Inn & Suites. Oceanside Inn & Suites offers our guests clean, comfortable rooms and amenities often associated with more expensive hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing