We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad, but there is room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fort Bragg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Missouri
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not bad, but there is room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here one night while passing though the area. The hotel is located on the main road and it is easy to get to whatever you may be wanting to see in this area. Check in was fine. However, initially they gave us a room where the door would not work (would not unlock or lock) so we got moved to another room. Not a big deal, but it did take longer to get settled because of this. The room was large, bright, and clean. I was happy with it for the price we paid. It also had a fridge, which was nice. While we were here, both the pool and hot tub were shut down. The pool eventually opened back up, but the hot tub did not. I kind of was looking forward to the hot tub so it was unfortunate that we didn't get to use it. A few things about this hotel. Dog people- I can't even begin to tell you how many guests I saw with dogs. So if you need a hotel that allows dogs this would be good for you. Not a lot of grassy area nearby to walk them however. Also to note- this hotel shares a lot with a restaurant/bar. On the night we stayed this bar/restaurant featured karoke. Our room was located on the side of the hotel close to this bar. When the bar closed for the night, patrons exited loudly ( I mean really loud - wake you up loud) and proceeded to visit/talk/laugh in the parking lot for at least 25 minutes. It was extremely rude (although I doubt they realized it) as it was past 1am. It totally woke me up. I would say that if you stay here and are a light sleeper- check to see what activities may be going on at this bar or request to stay on the side of the hotel away from it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Hulagirl98 ,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our hotel. My apologies in regards to the music from the bar . Common sense seems to go out the window where that is concerned. Just to let you know we are looking at getting a total remodel of out entire property coming soon and are in hope you will visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    45
    20
    18
See reviews for
53
49
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am very picky about hotel rooms and this room was pretty decent. We stayed here with our two teenage sons. This was our first visit to Fort Bragg and friends recommended this hotel because of our 2 little dogs. Our dogs are clean and we were worried that our room would smell like others' dogs from previous stays. When we walked in we were pleasantly surprised! No smell, room was clean, bathroom was large. We stayed in a 3 room suite which was nice and big with three full size beds. The bathroom was very clean and there was a TV, small refrig, and microwave in our room. There weren't enough electrical outlets so we had to keep switching the microwave and tv but that was a minor inconvenience. Safeway, Round Table, McDonalds, etc. were close. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were nice. Our door didn't appear to close all the way (it WAS closed and locked) but they said they were aware and knew they needed to replace some. I had read about this on a review prior to going so it didn't bother me...as long as the door was secure which it was. The curtain did not close all the way but we overlapped it and placed something against it...problem solved. Customer service was excellent. The ladies at the front desk were fabulous! This is an older motel so things were a little outdated but all in all this was a great place to stay. I was so pleased overall with my stay that we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Joan,
Thank you so much for your kind words . I am happy to hear you and your family had a pleasant visit at the Fort Bragg Motel 6. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very nice and clean. Enjoyed the restaurant. Nice office staff. Walk-in price was cheaper than Expedia price. Wish they had any kind of breakfast; a donut or muffin? They did have coffee with little teeney, weeney, itty, bitty, foam cups.

Room Tip: Stop at the glass beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpace57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear JPace57 So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fort Bragg Motel 6 .
My staff and I try real hard to make all our guests stays enjoyable and we are happy to hear we did just that, We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the coast.
Sincerely,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The girl at the desk was pleasant and the room was clean and adequate. The "Tradewinds" restaurant located on the property was open for both dinner and breakfast. The breakfast was substantial and the dinner while nothing exceptional was good. The service was excellent. I will stay here again when I go through Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear TJ Anderson thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay .
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Fort Bragg.
Sincerely,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We made some last minute reservations and our normal spot was full, but we were able to get into the Motel 6 with no problems. If you are making reservations for Fort Bragg in the summer, I recommend doing so about a month in advance for best prices and availability, no matter where you stay. We arrived early so our rooms were not yet available, but we checked in and had everything ready to go except our key cards, which we were told we could get anytime after two p.m. The clerk called the person in charge of room cleaning and told them to make sure our room was ready on time. Signs in the lobby said that the motel was going to be going through an upgrade in November and it showed pictures of what the rooms would look like afterward. So, this review may be outdated as of November 2014. There is an indoor pool and hot tub along with a small exercise room available on the property. We went to lunch and came back around three and our rooms were ready. We brought our luggage in and put our things away. First thing I noticed was that there was a large desk/table sitting between the bed and the window. The room was large enough that once we moved the chair we had plenty of room, but the desk did block the air conditioner. The air conditioner was modern, in good condition and quiet. There was room enough to get by to get at the controls, but this seemed an odd placement. A second chair was also in the room. The room looked very clean, but the carpet was worn. The room had an iron, but no ironing board. It had a large refrigerator and a micro wave, but no in room coffee and the motel does not provide coffee in their lobby. Also, no shampoo was provided, but several small bars of motel 6 labeled soaps were provided. I noticed that the bottom of the door to the bathroom was started to come apart, probably from water damage. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the bedding was clean and unworn. Their is a restaurant on the premises along with a small bar. Also, right across the street through the back access was D'Aurelio & Sons, which is a small Italian restaurant with excellent food. We didn't eat at the motels restaurant, but we did use the small bar to meet up with some friends. The bartender was nice and talked to us some. As night time approached the motel filled up to capacity. We noticed that a lot of people smoked right outside their rooms (no smoking in rooms) and ashtrays were provided on the railings. I found this odd, as the smoke would enter the rooms and as the people walked in and out of their rooms smoke would follow them. Maybe that is why our room smelled really heavy of some sort of peach room deodorant. After our two nights, we checked out quickly and left early the final morning. The morning clerk was very friendly and it took just a couple of minutes to get us on our way. My overall thoughts was this was probably a typical Motel 6, chosen because of it's inexpensiveness compared to other motel properties in the area during a busy season by most of its guests. It was clean, but in serious need up being updated and repaired. It was busy, but not overly noisy. I did notice someone come out of their room with a large dog, so pets may be permitted. We probably wouldn't stay here again and definitely not until after the remodel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a second floor room if available as they would be much quieter. Also, wait until a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Fort Bragg .
We are looking at getting a total remodel of our entire property coming soon and are in hopes we can better serve you again on your next visit to Fort Bragg.
Thank you,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, CA
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've stayed a good number of Motel 6s and there are good ones and bad ones but usually they meet some standard of cleanliness, but not this one. We stayed there a few nights ago while on the coast for an overnight "escape the heat" trip. The lobby was fine and the employees were fine but the room was just uncomfortably unclean. The bottoms of our white socks were black from walking on the carpet. One of the towels had a creamy colored stain on it and I'm not sure if it was even washed. The room only had a shower and the toilet ran constantly. Not impressed at all and we wont return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omie B, General Manager at Motel 6 Fort Bragg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fort Bragg Motel 6.
I am sorry to hear that your visit was unpleasant. I am in hopes that you would have considered this to have been an isolated incident and give ua a chance to better serve you again in the future. If so Please feel free to call me personally so I may ensure you have a plaseant stay.
Sincerely,
Omie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
0.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fort Bragg

Property: Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Address: 400 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-4806 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Tradewinds)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fort Bragg 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Tradewinds Hotel Fort Bragg
Quality Inn And Suites Tradewinds
Quality Inn Tradewinds
Quality Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing