We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BETTER MOTEL 6 LOCATIONS”
Review of Motel 6 Fort Bragg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“ONE OF THE BETTER MOTEL 6 LOCATIONS”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Place was well kept. tidy, lots of parking. Quiet for a reasonably large operation and "highway" exposure (main drag/Rte 1). Almost all units are far enough back not to notice rioad noise. Recent conversion from a Quality Innn fior some reason. Busy even for Aug 22. Would stay again, even my wife says it's OK

Room Tip: Best at 1) south side or 2) back behind central block, backing onto Franklin Street. See Google Eart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakking1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    57
    24
    25
See reviews for
62
62
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Motel 6 at Fort Bragg as part of our roadtrip from Lake Tahoe up to Seattle. We had been told that Mendocino was a lovely town to visit along Highway 1, but the accomodation there was quite expensive, and as we knew we were not going to be arriving until late due to the long drive from Lake Tahoe, we decided to stay at Fort Bragg instead, and then drive back down to Mendocino to have a look around and have dinner, it's only 15mins south of the Motel 6 at Fort Bragg so that was no problem.

Check in was swift and our room was quite large. We weren't expecting much given the price of the room, there was a king size bed as promised and the room had heating and free HBO so no complaints there. A couple of negatives though, the carpet had obviously been steam cleaned that day, it was still wet to walk on and the smell made it obvious that it had been recently cleaned, it probably shouldn't have been rented out until it had dried completely, but we were too tired to bother about complaining and moving our stuff at that stage, and thought that at least we knew it was clean as opposed to dirty. The pillows were like half size pillows and there were 4 of them spread accross the bed, we both thought this was really strange, and quite frankly annoying, a king size bed should have king size pillows, I don't want to have to put together two pillows and have a gap in the middle when I'm trying to sleep. Also, the towels are miniature, and I'm not a big guy, if you were a larger person you'd need about 4 just to dry yourself, but you only get 2 in the room. Anyway, we slept well enough and the hotel was passable ... just. If it weren't for the negative issues I raised I would've given it 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have been visiting the Mendocino/Fort Bragg coast for about 25 years now, and finding reasonable food and lodging can be a challenge there. This property used to be called "Tradewinds", and the attached restaurant still operates under that name. If you are looking for a romantic setting with sunset ocean views and all that, then this isn't your place. It is located on the inland side of Highway 1, the main street thru town, and directly accross from the abandoned Georgia-Pacific mill site. If you have a full day of activities planned (and there are many here), and just want a place to eat and sleep, this property offers a compelling value. The rooms are clean, the housekeeping staff is friendly and efficient, the location is good, there is plenty of off-street parking, pets are welcome, and the restaurant offers excellent food (and grog) at very reasonable prices. We have stayed at several different establishments over the years, and have made this one our first choice for travel to the Mendo Coast. We plan on visiting again soon, and would recommend it without qualification.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

For the price, it was an adequate motel. The three bed suite was a nice option when traveling with teenagers. The back bedroom of the suite backed directly on the highway. It could be quite noisy in the mornings. As other travelers have mentioned, the hotel is undergoing a construction renovation. We stayed in one of the older rooms. The door entering into the room had a very wide gap. We had to plug it with towels to keep the air and sunlight out. It is a fair choice if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep and not spend a lot of time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were looking for something affordable but not cheap. This experience felt cheap. staff was friendly, and there was a pool - these were the only redeeming qualities in my book. The pool was maintained well and seemed cleaner than the room. Beds were ok but definitely needing replacement (could hear the springs squeeking and feel them bending when you sat down)
floors were filthy, as in soiled (First night there my 3 year old dumped sand from his shoe before we could catch him so we asked for a vaccum - no one at the front desk could get us access to housekeeping so we cleaned up as best we could by hand but next day when we returned the floor had still not been vaccumed after housekeeping had finished their day)
There was a refrigerator in the room but it did not work - so the food I put in it after turning it on spoiled by the time we got home that night. No coffee maker or alarm clock in the room, standard items usually, but there was a hairdryer.
Our second night we were just happy to have clean sheets to climb into we were so tired it didn't matter, unfortunately rest did not come because there had been a class reunion at the motel which finished up around 10pm but many of the guests were staying in the motel and they carried their party to a couple of the rooms. Didn't hear anything once they were inside their rooms, but periodically was jolted awake by loud intoxicated guests coming and going. Air conditioning/heating unit worked well, windows were single pain so you heard everything from outside as if it was in your room. Around 1am a very intoxicated party guest banged on our door and scared me to death - thinking they were going to just pass by and being still groggy I waited momentarily hoping, but they continued banging so I answered and informed them I had sleeping children and did not want them to be woken, making some unintelligeable comment about "why would I do that?" (speaking of herself it appeared) she then stepped toward me like she was going to enter the room so I quickly closed the door and locked it while telling her loudly I was going to call for help. She then proceeded to banter with here friend about what a /?!$* I was for not letting her get her &*%$!@? keys before getting into a vehicle and driving away. (I didn't see who was driving) By now my heart was racing and my husband was wide awake (fortunately the kids didn't seem disturbed at all surprisingly). We called the front desk to request assistance but no one answered, and within about 10 minutes they were gone, so we did not call the police.
I like to think that this was just one of those fluke stays where everything seems to go wrong, and the motel does seem to be attempting to improve the grounds and update the rooms. But if this is the kind of crowd that is drawn here, that will be bad for their business. I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was one the "updated" rooms and I wouldn't recommend it if this is as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I stayed at this motel and we found it to be clean and a great bargain. We stayed in a three bedroom suite and it was very nice with plenty of room. The staff and management were very professional and there was a good restaurant on the property. All attractions are close and we enjoyed our stay, we definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This motel was the nicest Motel 6 I have ever stayed at. Updated rooms and clean. The price was right for the night and it's close enough to walk to several places for food. If you don't mind a little more walking it's just outside of the shopping area for Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.9 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fort Bragg

Property: Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Address: 400 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-4806 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Tradewinds)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fort Bragg 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Tradewinds
Quality Inn & Suites Tradewinds Hotel Fort Bragg
Quality Inn Tradewinds
Quality Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing