We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great folks and great stay.”
Review of Glass Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glass Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great folks and great stay.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Glass Beach B&B is a quaint place to stay and Richard and Nancy absolutely go out of their way to be helpful. The Inn is very nice, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast was great and did I mention Richard and Nancy are the friendliest folks around. We stayed in the front two rooms and slept perfectly. If you are looking for a B&B in the area you can't beat the hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The owner of the hotel is the most delightful and helpful innkeeper. I arrived on the late side and when she learned I had not yet dined, she immediately called around to find out what restaurants were still open. The next day she offered up dog beach recommendations and then a towel to take with me in case my dog got soggy. Service is a 5++.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 1 night here during a trip driving up the Pacific Coast. The house doesn't look very big from the outside, but it is when you get in it. It's very nicely furnished. We had our choice of one of the two rooms in the building behind the house. The room was nicely decorated and had a TV, microwave and small refrigerator. The breakfast cooked by Richard and served by Nancy was delicious. Richard was a great source for things to do in the area. We didn't have a lot of time in Fort Bragg, but we did get to the Botanical Garden which was beautiful. Lots of blooming azaleas and rhododendrons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLAKAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was not much to look at from the curb but the people that own it were so nice and welcoming. We had our choice of rooms i guess because we were early. We chose a room out in the cottage in the back. The breakfast in the morning was great as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice on spur-of-the-moment trips while passing through Fort Bragg. The owners are THE NICEST people who serve up a great made-to-order breakfast as other reviews have mentioned. Both times there was a choice of waffles or eggs, plus sausage or bacon, fresh fruit salad, juice etc. The only thing that would add to an already terrific breakfast would be to have some background music in the dining room. It is a bit quiet in there. I haven't stayed in any rooms in front part of the main house, two in the back (one is behind the breakfast room next to the parking lot) are similar except the one in the small back house had a bigger bathroom and the fridge is in the bathroom (which is good if you are a light sleeper so the sound of the fridge cycling isn't bothersome.) There is a pretty good bath gel dispenser in the shower (I think it can be used as a shampoo but i didn't try it because I'm picky about my shampoo) plus small soap bars, if you don't care for that then i suggest you bring your own. Microwave and tea bags/instant cider/hot cocoa packets are available in the dining room at all times, it was nice to be able to heat up some water for a cup of tea at night. A short walk to the shops and restaurants on Main Street. Overall a quaint and comfortable place, it is like staying at someone's house who likes pastel floral decor and very traditional, simple furnishings. That is not my style but it somehow works in this setting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_marie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you want to be very close to the beach, on the edge of the mighty Redwood forest in a quaint little coastal town and you like a clean, comfortable accommodation with friendly, helpful hosts...this would be the place for you! Oh, yes and I they made the best blueberry pancakes I've ever tasted!
My wife and I stayed here 5 years ago and I was so glad to find Glass Beach Inn again this winter. Rich and Nancy are awesome and the B&B is just perfect. I would recommend giving yourself at least 3-4 days to see the area--we took the Skunk Train, toured the beach (quite dramatic, lots of seals frolicking about), enjoyed the cute shops in the town, and visited the more famous (more expensive) neighbouring town of Mendocino which is a few miles south of Fort Bragg.
We have no hesitation in recommending a getaway in this lovely area on the California coast and Glass Beach B&B inn is a perfect base for touring the area. Thank you Nancy & Rich for another great visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HDBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was nice but the attraction was the owners. Very helpful and friendly. It was one of my first stays in a B&B and I felt very welcome in their home. The location was great as well-close walk to Glass Beach.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
416 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass Beach Inn

Property: Glass Beach Inn
Address: 726 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Glass Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glass Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing