We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, homey atmosphere”
Review of Glass Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glass Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice on spur-of-the-moment trips while passing through Fort Bragg. The owners are THE NICEST people who serve up a great made-to-order breakfast as other reviews have mentioned. Both times there was a choice of waffles or eggs, plus sausage or bacon, fresh fruit salad, juice etc. The only thing that would add to an already terrific breakfast would be to have some background music in the dining room. It is a bit quiet in there. I haven't stayed in any rooms in front part of the main house, two in the back (one is behind the breakfast room next to the parking lot) are similar except the one in the small back house had a bigger bathroom and the fridge is in the bathroom (which is good if you are a light sleeper so the sound of the fridge cycling isn't bothersome.) There is a pretty good bath gel dispenser in the shower (I think it can be used as a shampoo but i didn't try it because I'm picky about my shampoo) plus small soap bars, if you don't care for that then i suggest you bring your own. Microwave and tea bags/instant cider/hot cocoa packets are available in the dining room at all times, it was nice to be able to heat up some water for a cup of tea at night. A short walk to the shops and restaurants on Main Street. Overall a quaint and comfortable place, it is like staying at someone's house who likes pastel floral decor and very traditional, simple furnishings. That is not my style but it somehow works in this setting.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_marie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Glass Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you want to be very close to the beach, on the edge of the mighty Redwood forest in a quaint little coastal town and you like a clean, comfortable accommodation with friendly, helpful hosts...this would be the place for you! Oh, yes and I they made the best blueberry pancakes I've ever tasted!
My wife and I stayed here 5 years ago and I was so glad to find Glass Beach Inn again this winter. Rich and Nancy are awesome and the B&B is just perfect. I would recommend giving yourself at least 3-4 days to see the area--we took the Skunk Train, toured the beach (quite dramatic, lots of seals frolicking about), enjoyed the cute shops in the town, and visited the more famous (more expensive) neighbouring town of Mendocino which is a few miles south of Fort Bragg.
We have no hesitation in recommending a getaway in this lovely area on the California coast and Glass Beach B&B inn is a perfect base for touring the area. Thank you Nancy & Rich for another great visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HDBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was nice but the attraction was the owners. Very helpful and friendly. It was one of my first stays in a B&B and I felt very welcome in their home. The location was great as well-close walk to Glass Beach.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the cottages which was clean and comfortable. Good value for what they provided. Next morning we had a super full breakfast cooked by the owner with eggs, toast, juice and hashbrowns. couldn't ask for more. We'll go back if just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a last minute find for us at the end of August. We only stayed one night but would definitely come back if we could again. Nice size clean room with bath, friendly proprietors, excellent breakfast. Try it, you will like it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rglr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Glass Beach Inn allows you a taste of life living in boarding houses during the bygone days, complete with thrift store decor that could only be given away because no friends or family will take them. The place smelt of old houses or mildew and we had a hard time falling asleep.

The towels seem clean but with a shade of darkness - from continuous home laundry at low cycles?! The only amenities in the room were two small square soaps and mint. The inn provided an envelope each day for you to tip the housekeeper who seems to be the owner Nancy. By the way, don't go bare feet in the bathroom or you need to wash them again - not the floor, your feet. At a price at greater than $140, this is an expensive boarding house.

The only saving grace was the delicious breakfast. The cookies in the evening were hard as glasses. Hence, the name Glass Beach.

Room Tip: Breakfast is the only good thing.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Like many others, I think Nancy and Rich set the standard that ALL B+B hosts should uphold. Gracious without being overbearing; friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the area; Rich is an excellent cook who provides a giant breakfast and Nancy and the staff keep the place immaculate.

The room was lovely (Country Comfort room) with a solid queensized bed, plenty of covers and a bathroom with the best shower ever. Again, immaculately clean.

My only caution would be if you are a light sleeper there is some road noise till about 9:30-10 PM. It's very minor but noticeable.

The bit of noise if it even bothered you is a tiny price to pay for the warm hospitality and comfort of the inn. It's old-fashioned in the very best sense of the word.

Room Tip: if road noise bother you go for one of the cabin stryle rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta_A_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
443 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass Beach Inn

Address: 726 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $161 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glass Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glass Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing