We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Glass Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glass Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Sparks, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was nice but the attraction was the owners. Very helpful and friendly. It was one of my first stays in a B&B and I felt very welcome in their home. The location was great as well-close walk to Glass Beach.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the cottages which was clean and comfortable. Good value for what they provided. Next morning we had a super full breakfast cooked by the owner with eggs, toast, juice and hashbrowns. couldn't ask for more. We'll go back if just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair lawn, nj usa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a last minute find for us at the end of August. We only stayed one night but would definitely come back if we could again. Nice size clean room with bath, friendly proprietors, excellent breakfast. Try it, you will like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rglr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Glass Beach Inn allows you a taste of life living in boarding houses during the bygone days, complete with thrift store decor that could only be given away because no friends or family will take them. The place smelt of old houses or mildew and we had a hard time falling asleep.

The towels seem clean but with a shade of darkness - from continuous home laundry at low cycles?! The only amenities in the room were two small square soaps and mint. The inn provided an envelope each day for you to tip the housekeeper who seems to be the owner Nancy. By the way, don't go bare feet in the bathroom or you need to wash them again - not the floor, your feet. At a price at greater than $140, this is an expensive boarding house.

The only saving grace was the delicious breakfast. The cookies in the evening were hard as glasses. Hence, the name Glass Beach.

Room Tip: Breakfast is the only good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Like many others, I think Nancy and Rich set the standard that ALL B+B hosts should uphold. Gracious without being overbearing; friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the area; Rich is an excellent cook who provides a giant breakfast and Nancy and the staff keep the place immaculate.

The room was lovely (Country Comfort room) with a solid queensized bed, plenty of covers and a bathroom with the best shower ever. Again, immaculately clean.

My only caution would be if you are a light sleeper there is some road noise till about 9:30-10 PM. It's very minor but noticeable.

The bit of noise if it even bothered you is a tiny price to pay for the warm hospitality and comfort of the inn. It's old-fashioned in the very best sense of the word.

Room Tip: if road noise bother you go for one of the cabin stryle rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta_A_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I absolutely love this b & b! Nancy and Rich are wonderful people. We have been visiting them for 3 years now, with at least a dozen differnent visits. We always stay in "Grandma's attic." It is spacious and cozy, with plenty of room for the whole family. Nancy and Rich are like family and we look foreward to visiting with them. You will not be disappointed with the rooms, the food, or the service.

Room Tip: Grandma's Attic has a beautiful front balcony, two queen beds with a full fold-out option, beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This bed and breakfast is very quaint, each room has its own decor - ours was roses and hearts walpaper, deep red love seat with matching teddy bear, white fancy bed linens - the works.
The breakfast was complete - eggs or pancakes/waffle (varied each day), bacon or sausage, potatoes, fruit, juice and toast. in the evening there was a plate of cookies, and some cheese and crackers.
The owners/operators were very kind and accomodating, and knowledgable about the area - attraction, preferred spots, etc. they also have plenty flyers for all tehheproperty has wifi, of excellent quality.

The bathroom was a bit dated, but it worked well.
My only complaint - the piping was quite noisy, so when the people on 2nd floor flushed, we could hear it loud and clear.

All in all - ecellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Fort Bragg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass Beach Inn

Property: Glass Beach Inn
Address: 726 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Glass Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Glass Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing