We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried food and tiny beers”
Review of Cap'n Flints

Cap'n Flints
Ranked #59 of 85 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fried food and tiny beers”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were there before the lunch crowd (11:00) and were the only people in the place. We got a seat by the window and could watch the boats go in and out of the Harbor. We ordered the "Treasure Chest" and a Squid basket. Both were deep fried and a little on the greasy side. I had to use a napkin to sop up the grease on my scallops. I had a wine spritzer and it tasted kind of moldy? Could have been the cheap red wine they used for it? My husband ordered a beer and they brought him a tiny 8oz glass. He was not amused lol. I try to look at the bright side of things but this place will not be on our places to stop again :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    37
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good beer and views”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been to Flints twice now. We like to go as the fishing boats come in. They have good food and cold beer. They have a padio and they welcome dogs. Fun place just to hang out for a while and enjoy the view!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Flints has went down hill”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was sad to see how horrible the food at Cap'n Flints is now. At one time, this was one of my favorite places to eat when visiting Fort Bragg. Sadly I will never return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fish shack”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

That says it all. Cap'n Flint's is a fish shack located under the Noyo River Bridge beside the Noyo harbor. As such you would think this place would be the center of attention when it comes to seafood.

The service was excellent. We were served promptly and our waitress came back several times during the meal to make sure everything was okay.

I had a shrimp sandwich that was about a cup and a quarter of thawed frozen shrimp, mixed with mayo, salt and pepper served on a roll you can buy at Safeway in a six-pack.

Personally I am used to shrimp sandwiches that are fresh shrimp, with aoili, red bell pepper, red onion and some hot sauce served on a toasted roll. With piping hot, fresh out of he fryer, french fries. This was some kind of cheap rip-off.

This restaurant is within walking distance of the Noyo fleet and yet they buy frozen shrimp. Also their french fries are frozen. Not a bad thing, but in this day and age peeling and cutting fries fresh and then frying them creates a much better product.

Also, don't order a beer unless you like dixie cups. I haven't seen such a short pull on the beer tap since.... Well since never. Four dollars for a 10 ounce glass? Short beers of this caliber are better suited to the ball park than a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good old restaurant, getting older...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cap'n Flints has been serving fish n chips down in the Noyo Harbor for a long time now, doing something right: pretty good quality of pretty ordinary food at reasonable prices. Not much has changed over the years, It's still pretty good and the qualtiy is still pretty ordinary and the prices are reasonable enough, except for alcohol--most beer is $4 or more, and that is an excessive markup, punishing those who feel a cold one is necessary with your fish & chips. Service from a mostly young and very informal staff is friendly and on point. The kitchen is quick with orders but the pre-packaged frozen/pre-breaded/fried with fry oil at too low a temp quality could be better with just a little more care and attention. The dining room has a nice view of the Noyo River and to tell the truth, a window seat makes the experience worthwhile no matter what you have ordered.

You need to dismiss from your mind any expectation of being served fresh seafood. Anything on the menu you can duplicate at home from the frozen fish sticks section of the supermarket. (I except the oysters, which are breaded probably from a jar and in any case are dismal.) Long John Silver's is much superior. Prawns are pretty darn good, with cod (?) not too bad and scallops a rather tasteless mystery meat that might be...who knows? I hope the skimpy serving of tartar sauce is commercial canned. If it is house-prepared, someone is taste-deaf.

Flints chowder has its true believers, and who am I to argue with them, except to say that I think they probably have never tasted an honest homemade chowder--plenty easy to make and way better than canned or Flints. But suit yourself.

It is strange to me that a fishing village like Fort Bragg used to be should have such overall ordinary or poor seafood for visitors. (Not always the case--Noyo fisheries used to serve fish & chips to die for--plus a fresh fish market that was A+.) Please don't misunderstand--Flints is OK, but if you want outstandingly good seafood, you should check out the Thai and Japanese restaurants in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billyabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Flints also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cap'n Flints? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing