We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food in Fort Bragg CA”
Review of El Mexicano - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mexicano
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Bragg, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Fort Bragg CA”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The food is good and has some spice in it. They have a good menu and we think it is the best Mexican food in Fort Bragg.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tooters05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Always a stop for us!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

When we're in town - we always hit El Mexicano - it's one of our favorite places! Although, the service has changed significantly over the past decade. Warm & friendly smiles aren't the 'norm', but the food's still great & we'll be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank facosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
“El Mexicano”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Both the Willits & Fort Bragg restaurants have been the same for decades....They are ALWAYS dependable for great food. I like all of it. Their beans are to die for!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mex food around”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

One not of importance is that the food is consistently great as well as authentic. They are not reluctant to serve excellent spicy salsa with fresh chips, a great change from getting bland, flavorless salsa with no kick as you find in many restaurants. Their menu partions are fairly generous and the food is always served hot. If you search for good chile verde it is deliciously spicy and distinctive. It's definitely worth the sweat. Great atmosphere, simple and congenial.
The owner Mickey is charming and outgoing and ready to please. It is a cut above the other mexian restaurants and will satisfy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexicoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FB, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I like to give most of the restaurants a try, and this was one of them. There are about 6 Mexican restaurants in town, and this is my least favorite. Nothing special, would have preferred Taco Bell

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedDiner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicano also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing