We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have been staying here a few times a year since this hotel first opened, our last stay was over the 4th of July, 2014, and that will be our LAST stay. Somehow they found a way to allow a motor home to set up a campsite in the parking lot, complete with bbq, and a ball game (in the parking lot). They were apparently friends with someone staying in one of the rooms as a very loud conversation went on late into the night across the parking lot. When we mentioned it to the front desk, all we heard was "sorry about that". Not the response I was looking for. Apparently we were not the only people complaining, but that did not seem to make a difference as the camper was still there when we left town the following afternoon. They have made a lot of upgrades to their rooms, and its a shame, but we will not be going back, I have recommended this hotel to a lot of people, but I will not be recommending it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We remember that weekend as well! On behalf of the Emerald Dolphin Inn, I apologize! We did ask them when they would be leaving, but they weren't on our property. Due to the Holiday and the Motor-home was waiting for a part to be delivered, we tolerated their parking in the field. I wish we would of known they were disturbing our guests because we would have addressed it. We'd hate to loose you as a guest and hope that you will give us another chance your next trip to the coast. Again, I appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    101
    40
    10
    10
See reviews for
73
140
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The room was clean,right near the ocean. Friendly front desk working....comfortable bed. There was some noise fr traffics where it is on the main st but we slept very well. We will book here again. They had a breakfast available w/ coffee .

Room Tip: Room was a little loud but we slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We appreciate the review~thank you for staying with the Emerald Dolphin Inn! See you soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I will add to the list of excellent reviews. Save yourself the stress and time looking for accomodations in Fort Bragg...just book your stay here. I am picky for cleanliness and customer satisfation. I do not regert staying here and neither will you. This will be my only lodging choice when near Fort Bragg.
Gary

Room Tip: Rooms near the West may have less road noise...however there is little road noise to begin with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Michael~Glad to hear you slept well! Thank for your business and your review! Hope to see you on your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

on our way south, stopped for a night. This is a basic motel with few ammenities. Even had to go to the office to use the microwave! Clean, but not a place i would want to spend a vacation. Forced to take a downstairs room because of the dog. People upstairs noisy. We had a view of the parking lot and cars in and out all night.

Room Tip: upstairs would certainly be better. They will give you the worst rooms if you have a dog.
See more room tips
Green Features: none that I noticed - no recycling bins in the room
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Emerald Dolphin Inn. It's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to grow. We have our new floors for our pet rooms, and all of their treats! These are the last of our rooms to be upgraded, we are proud to say we just ordered pet friendly linens! Yes we do have beautiful white linens in our other rooms, but most dogs and white comforters don't mesh. So thank you for the reminder that we are always a work in progress! Who knows, we may surprise you the next time your on the coast! We'd love to see you again. Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. We wouldn't stay again simply because we weren't very impressed. It's a good hotel but not what you hope for when driving 15 hours on a vacation you've saved for a year to go on. We stayed here because we has a ten year old and a 13 year old and it looked like a great place for children with the advertised mini- golf. We were only given one round of mini golf during our three day stay which the kids were pretty disappointed about. My husband and I were terribly disappointed to be placed on the second floor of the middle building where our view if this beautiful place was the walls if the building across from us. We felt felt suffocated the entire stay. My husband laughed ate in the mornings standing in the toilet seat trying to peer out the tiny bathroom to see what the weather was like each day. I really can't explain our disappointment. The great thing about this room was that it was clean and overall that was our biggest concern staying in many different places throughout our trip on the northern coast. The continental breakfast was basically Danishes, the exact same ones every day, cold cereal, or oatmeal. It was okay but we usually ended up finding breakfast elsewhere. Overall we all felt very disappointed and tried to spend the majority of our stay away from the room. There is no view at all of the ocean, simply the main road busy with cars. There is a very short 30 second drive or short walk to a great view of the ocean however. I think it's called the Pomo bluffs. We loved walking along here in the evening and there were deer everywhere. This view is great! Next time we will find a room where we can see out. The staff here is friendly but somewhat snobby. Not the kind we felt we could discuss our disappointment with. :(

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Wendy and family,

Thank you for staying with us in July. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies that we didn't meet your expectations. Our staff is here for our guests and wish that you would of came to us while you were here. We could have addressed your room and helped make you more comfortable. . It does sound like you slept well, and and enjoyed your time in Fort Bragg. We built our Mini Golf course for our families traveling and our local munchkins. As a special treat for those guest who stay with us, we do offer a "Free" round of golf - glad the kids came out and played and had fun.
Happy Travels and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were in the area after spending the prior two nights in Mendocino for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Before heading home we wanted to see the Botanical Gardens. We were especially impressed with the cleanliness of the room. It was very reasonably priced and had everything we needed (frig and mirowave). Loved the small touches - artistically folded hand towels (and even TP!). The beds were among the most comfortable we've experienced. It was very quiet so we got a good night's sleep. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Let me start off by saying "Congratulations" on the wedding. Thank you for staying with us at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. We wanted to thank you for the review we really appreciate the nice comments. Wishing you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had room 217 and it was very quiet. Even though Hiway 1 is somewhat close, traffic dies down and had a great sleep. Very helpful at check in and my room was very spacious and clean. Ideal location south of town and close to a nice place to watch the sunset! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aztravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
It's always great to hear our guests have had a good slumber! Thank you for sharing your review for the rest of the world to see! As always sweet dreams...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course on site with arcade & private party room, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing